The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Newport County
Rhode Island

Politicians who were born in Newport County

  Jamestown: Robert G. Dunphy, c.1920
  Little Compton: Jeremiah Bailey, 1773 — George Gray, 1824 — Leslie Combs, 1852
  Middletown: Benjamin Hazard, 1770 — William P. Buffum, 1858
  Newport, 1700-1799: Joseph Wanton, 1705 — John Collins, 1717 — Samuel Ward, 1725 — William Ellery, 1727 — Jonathan J. Hazard, 1744 — William Jones, 1753 — Francis Malbone, 1759 — Christopher G. Champlin, 1768 — Christopher Ellery, 1768 — William Hunter, 1774 — Nathaniel Hazard, 1776 — Henry Y. Cranston, 1789 — Robert B. Cranston, 1791
  Newport, 1800-1899: Benjamin D. Silliman, 1805 — George G. King, 1807 — Elisha Dyer, 1811 — William C. Cozzens, 1811 — William M. Rodman, 1814 — Henry M. Shaw, 1819 — Charles C. Van Zandt, 1830 — Stephen A. Gardner, c.1845 — Melville Bull, 1854 — Ward McAllister, Jr., 1855 — Daniel B. Fearing, 1859 — Edward de Veaux Morrell, 1862 — William Astor Chanler, 1867 — Clark Burdick, 1868 — Lewis S. Chanler, 1869 — Henry Rogers Winthrop, 1876 — Peter Augustus Jay, 1877 — Thomas J. Grady, 1877 — Mortimer A. Sullivan, 1880 — Ogden L. Mills, 1884 — Cornelius C. Moore, 1884 — Benjamin M. McLyman, 1886 — Hugh D. Auchincloss, 1897
  Newport, 1900-1999: Peter Goelet, 1911 — Robert J. Mrazek, 1945
  Portsmouth: Peleg Sanford, 1639 — George Moulton Carpenter, 1844
  Prudence, Portsmouth: Dutee J. Pearce, 1789
  Tiverton: Gideon Wanton, 1693 — Benjamin Howland, 1755 — Peleg Tallman, 1764 — Job Durfee, 1790 — Nathaniel B. Durfee, 1812 — George R. Lawton, 1858
   See also Rhode Island birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/NE-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]