The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kent County
Rhode Island

Kent County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Kent County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Kent County: [none currently in database]

Kent County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: Thomas A. Reynolds
   1876, St. Louis: Alpheus F. Angell
   1912, Baltimore: Thomas H. Galvin
   1916, St. Louis: Peter G. Gerry — Patrick H. Quinn
   1920, San Francisco: Patrick H. Quinn
   1924, New York: Patrick H. Quinn
   1928, Houston: Patrick H. Quinn
   1932, Chicago: Peter G. Gerry — Patrick H. Quinn
   1936, Philadelphia: John M. Flynn — Patrick H. Quinn
   1940, Chicago: Robert E. Quinn
   1944, Chicago: Thomas F. Barry — Henry L. McCormick — John E. Mullen — Edward J. Murray
   1948, Philadelphia: Agnes Blanchet
   1952, Chicago: Gerard Di Fiore — Henry L. McCormick — Lillian Miller
   1960, Los Angeles: Charlotte L. Barrett — John Coffey — Gerard Di Fiore — George Low — Regina Low — Peter P. Reilly — Eleanor F. Slater
   1964, Atlantic City: Felix A. Appolonia — John Coffey — Gerard Di Fiore — Horace E. Hobbs — Regina Low — Kathleen McDonald — Raymond N. Nelson — Eleanor F. Slater
   1988, Atlanta: Donald R. Carlson
   1996, Chicago: Jennie Day — Mary B. Shekarchi — Joseph W. Walsh
   2004, Boston: Bill Murphy — Mark Schwager — Eleanor F. Slater — L. Susan Weiner
   2008, Denver: Patricia Flanagan — Elizabeth Perik — L. Susan Weiner
   2012, Charlotte: Frank Ferri — James R. Langevin — Elaine Prior — Donald Sweitzer — Helen Taylor — L. Susan Weiner — Mark S. Weiner — Zoe Weiner
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Simon Henry Greene — Benedict Lapham
   1864, Baltimore: Joel M. Spencer
   1900, Philadelphia: Walter E. Spink — Richard Thornley
   1908, Chicago: Edward E. Arnold
   1912, Chicago: George B. Waterhouse — Charles A. Wilson
   1920, Chicago: Joseph P. Burlingame — Mahlon M. Gowdy — George P. Newell
   1924, Cleveland: Elizabeth L. Newell
   1928, Kansas City: Joseph P. Burlingame
   1932, Chicago: Joseph P. Burlingame — Felix Hébert
   1944, Chicago: Albro N. Dana — Thomas Casey Greene
   1948, Philadelphia: Thomas Casey Greene
   1952, Chicago: Thomas Casey Greene — Vincent C. James
   1956, San Francisco: Herbert B. Carkin — Bayard Ewing — Norman E. Gillespie — Thomas Casey Greene — Horace M. Lancellotta — Ruth S. Schoonman
   1960, Chicago: Bayard Ewing — G. Ellsworth Gale — Ralph T. Lewis — Raymond E. Stone — T. Reid Westmoreland
   1972, Miami Beach: Agnes R. Lapointe — Guy J. Wells
   1992, Houston: Scott Avedisian — Bernard A. Jackvony — Ann Marie Lloyd — Stephen C. Patton — Susan C. Patton
   2004, New York: Scott Avedisian — Margaret Gartelman — Patricia Morgan
   2008, St. Paul: Scott Avedisian — Suzanne O. Carcieri — Nicholas Gorham — Kristine Greene — Carol Nolan — James Patti — Robert A. Watson
   2012, Tampa: Scott Avedisian — Elizabeth O. Smith — Joseph Trillo — Erik E. Turgeon
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: William Anthony
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/KE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]