The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Franklin County

Politicians who were born in Franklin County

  Franklin County (no city given): Conrad Baker, 1817 — William Adam Piper, 1826
  Antrim Township: T. Frank Bayer, 1863
  Chambersburg: Joseph Kerr, 1765 — George Chambers, 1786 — Thomas H. Crawford, 1786 — Joseph Chambers McKibbin, 1824 — Thomas R. Bard, 1841 — William W. McIntire, 1850 — P. Stewart Heintzleman, 1880 — King Alexander, 1895
  Near Chambersburg: John Rea, 1755 — Frederick Augustus Tritle, 1833 — John L. Bittinger, 1833
  Concord: Robert M. Donnelly, 1845
  Near Concord: Alexander Campbell, 1814
  Doylesburg: Henry S. Evans, 1813
  Dry Run: P. Emerson Taylor, 1871
  Fannettsburg: Frank M. Alexander, 1874
  Fayetteville: Frank B. Heintzleman, 1888
  Fort Loudon: William S. Stenger, 1840
  Green Village: John S. Bobbs, 1809 — Thaddeus M. Mahon, 1840
  Greencastle: Thomas G. McCullough, 1785 — Robert McClelland, 1807 — Samuel F. Snively, 1859 — Watson R. Davidson, 1870 — Henry P. Fletcher, 1873
  Near Greencastle: David Fullerton, 1772 — Robert Allison, 1777 — James X. McLanahan, 1809 — David Fullerton Robison, 1816
  Hamilton: William Baker, 1813
  Logan Township: Samuel Maclay, 1741
  Lurgan Township: William Maclay, 1765
  Mercersburg: John Findlay, 1766 — William Findlay, 1768 — James Findlay, 1770 — M. Linn Bruce, c.1861 — James A. McDonough, 1873 — D. Elmer Hawbaker, 1916
  Near Mercersburg: James Buchanan, 1791
  Orrstown: John O. Bard, 1829
  Roxbury: William C. Pomeroy, 1851
  Near Roxbury: Joseph Pomeroy, 1804
  Strasburg: John Alexander Ahl, 1813
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/FR-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]