The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Delaware County

Politicians who died in Delaware County

  Delaware County (no city given): George G. Leiper, 1868
  Chester: William Anderson, 1829 — Samuel Anderson, 1850 — Samuel Edwards, 1850 — John Larkin, Jr., 1896 — E. Wallace Chadwick, 1969 — Joseph L. Eyre, 1976
  Near Chester: Jacob Richards, 1816
  Clifton Heights: Edward G. Bradford II, 1928
  Darby: Thomas Smith, 1846 — Jacob S. Serrill, 1899 — William T. Granahan, 1956
  Near Glen Mills: John Edwards, 1843
  Haverford: Charles Humphreys, 1786 — Christopher Augustus Bergen, 1905 — Paul Hagemans, 1926 — Jack T. Sherman, c.1976
  Lansdowne: J. N. Wallem, 1909 — Robert C. Moon, 1914 — Napoleon Bonaparte Kelly, 1928
  Near Leiperville: John Chew Thomas, 1836
  Media: Edward Darlington, 1884 — Samuel Edgar Nicholson, 1934 — George A. Welsh, 1970
  Radnor: William W. Atterbury, 1935
  Ridley Park: William H. Milliken, Jr., 1969
  Rose Valley, Wallingford: Adele Scott Saul, 1988
  Swarthmore: John H. Pitman, 1950
  Upland: Francis M. Taitt, 1943
  Near Wayne: James H. Campbell, 1895
   See also Pennsylvania deathplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/DE-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]