The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Disciples of Christ Politicians in Oklahoma

  Thomas Galphin Andrews (b. 1882) — also known as Thomas G. Andrews — of Stroud, Lincoln County, Okla.; Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County, Okla. Born in Orangeburg, Orangeburg County, S.C., August 29, 1882. Lawyer; justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1929-35. Disciples of Christ. Member, American Bar Association; Phi Delta Phi; Freemasons; Knights Templar; Shriners; Odd Fellows; Lions. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of John D. Andrews and Belle (Darby) Andrews; married 1904 to Adelphia M. Wolgamatt; married 1930 to Reba Myers.
  Milton Cline Garber (1867-1948) — also known as Milton C. Garber — of Enid, Garfield County, Okla. Born in Humboldt County, Calif., November 30, 1867. Republican. Lawyer; newspaper publisher; co-founder, along with his father and brother, of Garber, Okla.; Garfield County Probate Judge, 1902-06; justice of Oklahoma territorial supreme court, 1906-07; appointed 1906; district judge in Oklahoma 20th District, 1908-12; mayor of Enid, Okla., 1919-21; U.S. Representative from Oklahoma 8th District, 1923-33; defeated, 1932. Disciples of Christ. Member, Eagles. Died in Alexandria, Douglas County, Minn., September 12, 1948 (age 80 years, 287 days). Interment at Memorial Park Cemetery, Enid, Okla.
  Relatives: Son of Martin Garber and Lucy A. (Rife) Garber; married 1900 to Lucy M. Bradley.
  See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
  John Milford Goldesberry (b. 1876) — also known as John M. Goldesberry — of Tulsa, Tulsa County, Okla. Born near Osceola, St. Clair County, Mo., March 13, 1876. Republican. Carpenter; lawyer; Tulsa County Attorney, 1922-25; U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Oklahoma, 1925-33. Disciples of Christ. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of Joseph Alexander Goldesberry and Easter Ann (Cooley) Goldesberry; married, May 30, 1900, to Fannie M. Stevens.
  John T. Johnson (b. 1856) — of Texas; Lawton, Comanche County, Okla.; Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County, Okla. Born in Livingston, Overton County, Tenn., January 9, 1856. Democrat. County judge in Texas, 1890; district judge in Oklahoma, 1907-15; justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1919-25; chief justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1923-25. Disciples of Christ. Member, Freemasons; Odd Fellows; Woodmen. Burial location unknown.
  E. F. Lester (b. 1871) — Born in Lebanon, Wilson County, Tenn., August 7, 1871. Democrat. Lawyer; district judge in Oklahoma 5th District, 1918-24; justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1924-31; chief justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1931. Disciples of Christ. Member, Freemasons; Odd Fellows. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of Preston S. Lester and Elizabeth (Crutchfield) Lester; married, April 29, 1902, to Buelah Collier.
  Charles Walter Mason (b. 1887) — also known as Charles W. Mason — of Nowata, Nowata County, Okla. Born in Stafford, Monroe County, Ohio, December 11, 1887. Democrat. Lawyer; Nowata County Attorney, 1914-16; served in the U.S. Army during World War I; district judge in Oklahoma 2nd District, 1919-23; justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1923-31; chief justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1929-31. Disciples of Christ. Member, Sigma Phi Epsilon; Delta Theta Phi; American Legion; Forty and Eight; Rotary. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of Frank Mason and Mary O'Ella (Shankland) Mason; married, December 24, 1914, to Ruth Ethel Cobbs.
  James Ivey Phelps (b. 1875) — also known as James I. Phelps — of El Reno, Canadian County, Okla.; Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County, Okla. Born in Newton, Newton County, Tex., June 20, 1875. Democrat. Lawyer; Canadian County Judge, 1901-07; district judge in Oklahoma 13th District, 1919-25; justice of Oklahoma state supreme court, 1925-29, 1935. Disciples of Christ. Member, American Bar Association; Freemasons; Order of the Eastern Star; Knights Templar; Shriners; Odd Fellows; Knights of Pythias; Woodmen; Kiwanis. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of Elza V. M. Phelps and Mary A. (Simmons) Phelps; married, February 1, 1903, to Lydia B. Malcom.
  Forrest Rozzell (1908-2004) — of Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark. Born in Gore, Sequoyah County, Okla., August 18, 1908. Democrat. Member of Arkansas state house of representatives, 1939-45; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1952 (member, Platform and Resolutions Committee), 1956 (alternate). Disciples of Christ. Died in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., September 4, 2004 (age 96 years, 17 days). Interment at Crestlawn Memorial Park, Conway, Ark.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OK/disciples-of-christ.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]