The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ohio: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Ohio State Supreme Court, 1803-2003 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel H. Huntington 1803-08 Return J. Meigs, Jr. 1803-04 William Spriggs 1803-06 Daniel Symmes 1805-08 George Tod 1806-10 Return J. Meigs, Jr. 1808-09 William Spriggs 1808-10 Thomas Scott 1809-16 Thomas Morris 1809 William W. Irvin 1810-15 Ethan A. Brown 1810-18 William W. Irwin 1810-16 Jessup N. Couch 1816-21 John McLean 1816-22 Calvin Pease 1816-30 Peter Hitchcock 1819-33 Jacob Burnet 1821-28 Charles Robert Sherman 1823-29 Joshua Collett 1829-36 John Milton Goodenow 1830 Elijah Hayward 1830 Henry Brush 1830-31 Gustave Swan 1830 Ebenezer Lane 1830-44 John C. Wright 1831-35 Reuben Wood 1833-47 Peter Hitchcock 1835-42 Frederick Grimke 1836-42 Matthew Birchard 1842-49 Nathaniel C. Reed 1842-49 Peter Hitchcock 1844-52 Edward Avery 1847-51 William B. Caldwell 1849-54 Rufus P. Spalding 1849-52 Rufus P. Ranney 1851-57 Thomas W. Bartley 1852-59 John A. Corwin 1852-54 Allen G. Thurman 1852-56 William Kennon, Sr. 1854-56 Robert B. Warden 1854-55 Joseph R. Swan 1855-59 Jacob Brinkerhoff 1856-71 Charles C. Convers 1856 Ozias Bowen 1856-58 Josiah Scott 1857-72 Milton Sutliff 1858-61 William V. Peck 1859-64 William Y. Gholson 1859-63 Rufus P. Ranney 1863-65 Horace Wilder 1863-65 Hocking Hunter 1864 William White 1864-79 Luther T. Day 1865-75 John Welch 1865-78 George W. McIlvaine 1871-81 William H. West 1872-73 Walter F. Stone 1873-74 George Rex 1874-77 William J. Gilmore 1875-80 Gibson Atherton as of 1882 George K. Nash as of 1883-85 William H. Upson as of 1883 Thaddeus A. Minshall as of 1885-1901 William T. Spear as of 1885-1901 Marshall J. Williams 1887-1901 Jacob F. Burket 1893-1901 John A. Shauck 1895-1913 William Z. Davis 1900-01 James L. Price as of 1901-09 Maurice H. Donahue 1911-19 Thomas A. Jones as of 1915-36 Coleman W. Avery 1920 Florence E. Allen as of 1922-34 Arthur H. Day as of 1935-36 William C. Dixon as of 1939 Charles S. Bell 1942 Kingsley A. Taft as of 1948-62 James G. Stewart as of 1957 C. William O'Neill as of 1960 Paul M. Herbert 1960 Kingsley A. Taft 1962-70 Paul W. Brown as of 1964-68 Paul W. Brown as of 1973-81 Ralph S. Locher 1977- Andrew Douglas 1985- Thomas J. Moyer 1986- Alice Robie Resnick 1988- Francis E. Sweeney 1992- Paul E. Pfeifer 1993- Deborah L. Cook 1995-2003 Evelyn Lundburg Stratton 1996-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1804 Dec 15: Return J. Meigs, Jr., resigned.
  • 1806 Apr 15: William Spriggs, resigned.
  • 1808 Jan 9: Daniel Symmes, resigned.
  • 1821: Jessup N. Couch, died in office.
  • 1829 Jun 24: Charles Robert Sherman, died in office.
  • 1868: William E. Finck (Dem), defeated.
  • 1872: George W. Geddes (Dem), defeated.
  • 1881: Edward F. Bingham (Dem), defeated.
  • 1882: Gibson Atherton, defeated.
  • 1885: Thaddeus A. Minshall, elected.
  • 1886: Marshall J. Williams (Rep), elected.
  • 1890: Thaddeus A. Minshall, elected.
  • 1891: Marshall J. Williams, elected.
  • 1894 Nov 6: John A. Shauck (Rep), elected.
  • 1896: Thaddeus A. Minshall, elected.
  • 1897: Marshall J. Williams, elected.
  • 1897 Nov 2: Jacob F. Burket (Rep), elected; John P. Spriggs (Dem), defeated; E. Jay Pinney (Prohibition), defeated; Charles C. Pomeroy (People's), defeated; Jackson S. Wertman (Liberty), defeated; John H. Clark (Gold Democratic), defeated; Graham Deuwell (Negro Protective), defeated.
  • 1899: William Z. Davis, elected.
  • 1900: John A. Shauck, elected.
  • 1900 Jan 10: William Z. Davis, appointed.
  • 1920 Jun 10: Coleman W. Avery, appointed.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Coleman W. Avery (Dem), defeated.
  • 1938 Aug 9: R. M. Winegardner (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1938 Aug 9: Robert N. Gorman (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1938 Aug 9: William C. Dixon (Dem), nominated; Joseph E. Bowman (Dem), defeated in primary; Forrest F. Smith (Dem), defeated in primary; Theodor Ira Kowan (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Aug 9: Edward S. Matthias (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1938 Aug 9: William L. Hart (Rep), nominated; Edward C. Turner (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Aug 9: G. K. Allen (Rep), nominated; Frank H. Ward (Rep), defeated in primary; Roy L. Struble (Rep), defeated in primary; Lawrence M. Rich (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Edward S. Matthias (Rep), elected; R. M. Winegardner (Dem), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: William L. Hart (Rep), elected; Robert N. Gorman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: William C. Dixon (Dem), elected; G. K. Allen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1950: James Metzenbaum, defeated.
  • 1970 Mar 28: Kingsley A. Taft, died in office.
  • 1972: Paul W. Brown, elected.
  • 1990: Stephanie Tubbs=Jones (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]