The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Summit County

Summit County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Summit County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Summit County (incomplete!): Charles W. F. Dick, 1887-91 — Ray C. Bliss, 1942-60

Summit County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: Van R. Humphrey
   1912, Baltimore: L. C. Koplin — J. D. Thomas
   1916, St. Louis: Charles W. Kemple
   1924, New York: Cornelius Mulcahy — Isaac S. Myers — Wendell L. Willkie
   1928, Houston: Cornelius Mulcahy — Ross F. Walker
   1940, Chicago: Clarence E. Motz — Raoul L. Vioran
   1944, Chicago: L. S. Buckmaster — Walter J. Coyle — Leonard H. Forman — Mary E. McGowan — Clarence E. Motz
   1948, Philadelphia: George R. Bass — Walter J. Coyle — George Milliron — Clarence E. Motz
   1952, Chicago: George R. Bass — W. B. Bixler — Daniel J. Devany — Everett L. Foote — Sal Germano — Mary E. McGowan
   1956, Chicago: Leo A. Berg — Warren E. Carter — Catherine R. Dobbs — Fred Harter — L. A. Lombardi — Mary E. McGowan — Anna F. O'Neil — John L. Smith — Leo G. Walter
   1960, Los Angeles: Leo A. Berg — Anne K. Eaton — Frances McGovern — Bernard Rosen — Robert E. Shuff — Ernest W. Teodosio — Catherine C. Turner — Leo G. Walter
   1964, Atlantic City: Anne K. Eaton — Edward O. Erickson — Dan Luffman — Frances McGovern — Mary E. McGowan — Bertha Moore — Oliver Ocasek — Mary Plant — Thomas Thomas — Leo G. Walter
   1972, Miami Beach: Mrs. R. M. Blakemore — Melvin Brown — Edward Davis — Robert L. Hill — Gloria Massa — Charles F. Noland — Oliver Ocasek — Mary L. Quine — Charles T. Taylor
   1996, Chicago: Tim Davis — Beth A. Eagon — James A. Frost — Donald L. Plusquellic — Thomas C. Sawyer — Mickey Shields — Jack D. Sombati — Amy Nicholls Swanson
   2000, Los Angeles: Donald L. Plusquellic
   2004, Boston: Yamani Adkins — Alexis Finley — Wayne M. Jones — James Lawrence — Andrea Norris — Sonia Parsons — Ralph Paulk — Donald L. Plusquellic — Barbara Sykes — Kathleen Veith
   2008, Denver: Frank C. Comunale — DeAndre Forney — Kenny Holland — Elaine R. Jaffe — Wayne M. Jones — Louis J. Maholic — Jonathan Selinger — Betty Sutton — Nancy Vanduyn
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Christopher P. Wolcott
   1900, Philadelphia: Charles W. F. Dick
   1904, Chicago: Charles W. F. Dick — L. E. Sisler
   1908, Chicago: A. J. Rowley
   1912, Chicago: Edwin Seedhouse
   1916, Chicago: Charles Landon Knight
   1920, Chicago: W. E. Pardee
   1924, Cleveland: Charles Landon Knight — Helen A. Pardee
   1928, Kansas City: Charles W. Seiberling
   1932, Chicago: Charles E. Smoyer
   1936, Cleveland: Fred R. Ormsby — Walter B. Wanamaker
   1940, Philadelphia: Wade DeWoody — Gillum H. Doolittle
   1944, Chicago: Don H. Ebright — Amos H. Englebeck
   1948, Philadelphia: John R. Kumpel — Roy V. Sherman
   1952, Chicago: Ray C. Bliss — Roy E. Browne — Robert S. Pflueger — J. P. Riddle
   1956, San Francisco: Ray C. Bliss — Carl D. Sheppard — Dorothy Wickersham
   1960, Chicago: Ray C. Bliss — Ed L. Garrigan — Rice A. Hershey — Dorothy Wickersham
   1964, San Francisco: Sam H. Bell — Ray C. Bliss — George A. Boss — Mrs. W. B. Thomas
   1972, Miami Beach: John S. Ballard — Ray C. Bliss — Robert J. Himmelright — Elizabeth A. Hurley — Bradley Paul Long — Frances Rex — David E. Waddell
   2004, New York: Alex R. Arshinkoff — Howard Atwood — Cynthia K. Curtin — William F. Demas
   2008, St. Paul: Karen Arshinkoff — Ray LaBuda — Matt Riehl
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/SU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]