The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New York: Chief Judges of the Court of Appeals

Chief Judges of the New York Court of Appeals, 1847-1993 (May be incomplete!)
Freeborn G. Jewett 1847-49 Greene C. Bronson 1850-51 Charles H. Ruggles 1851-53 Addison Gardiner 1854-55 Hiram Denio 1856-57 Alexander S. Johnson 1858-59 George F. Comstock 1860-61 Samuel L. Selden 1862 Hiram Denio 1862-65 Henry E. Davies 1866-67 William B. Wright 1868 Ward Hunt 1868-69 Robert Earl 1870 Sanford E. Church 1870-80 Charles J. Folger 1880-81 Charles Andrews 1881-82 William C. Ruger 1882-92 Robert Earl 1892 Charles Andrews 1892-97 Alton B. Parker 1897-1904 Edgar M. Cullen 1904-13 Willard Bartlett 1914-16 Frank H. Hiscock 1917-26 Benjamin N. Cardozo 1927-32 Cuthbert W. Pound 1932-34 Frederick E. Crane 1935-39 Irving Lehman 1940-45 John T. Loughran 1945-53 Edmund H. Lewis 1953-54 Albert Conway 1954-59 Charles S. Desmond 1959-66 Stanley H. Fuld 1967-73 Charles D. Breitel 1973-79 Sol Wachtler 1985-93 Judith S. Kaye 1993-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1868 Jan 12: William B. Wright, died in office.
  • 1870 May 17: Sanford E. Church (Dem), elected; Henry R. Selden (Rep), defeated.
  • 1880 May 13: Sanford E. Church, died in office.
  • 1892: Walter J. Farrington (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1904 Aug 5: Alton B. Parker, resigned.
  • 1904 Nov 8: Edgar M. Cullen (Dem & Rep), elected; Charles H. Matchett (Social Democratic), defeated; Gaylord Logan (Prohibition), defeated; Justus Ebert (Socialist Labor), defeated; Edward N. Heath (People's), defeated.
  • 1913 Nov 4: Willard Bartlett (Dem & Independence League), elected; William E. Werner (Rep), defeated; Learned Hand (Progressive), defeated; Henry L. Slobodin (Socialist), defeated; Charles E. Manierre (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1916 Sep 19: Almet F. Jenks (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Sep 19: Frank H. Hiscock (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1916 Sep 19: Frank H. Hiscock (Progressive), nominated; Almet F. Jenks (Progressive), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Frank H. Hiscock (Rep & Progressive), elected; Almet F. Jenks (Dem & Independence League), defeated; Louis B. Boudin (Socialist), defeated; Erwin J. Baldwin (Prohibition), defeated; Jacob E. Alexander (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Benjamin N. Cardozo (Dem & Rep), elected; Darwin J. Meserole (Socialist), defeated; Milton Weinberger (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Cuthbert W. Pound (Rep & Dem), elected; Jacob Panken (Socialist), defeated; George E. Powers (Communist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Frederick E. Crane (Rep & Dem), elected; Jacob Hillquit (Socialist), defeated; Richard B. Moore (Communist), defeated.
  • 1939 Nov 7: Irving Lehman (Dem & Rep & American Labor), elected unopposed.
  • 1945 Sep 28: John T. Loughran, appointed.
  • 1946 Nov 5: John T. Loughran (Dem & Rep & American Labor), elected unopposed.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Edmund H. Lewis (Rep & Dem), elected; Edward Kuntz (American Labor), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Albert Conway (Dem & Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Charles S. Desmond (Dem & Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Stanley H. Fuld (Rep & Dem), elected unopposed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/ofc/coacj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]