The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ulster County
New York

Politicians who were born in Ulster County

  Ulster County (no city given): John Blake, Jr., 1762 — Abraham Joseph Hasbrouck, 1773 — George W. Wolcott, 1811 — Westbrook Devine, 1822 — William G. Ritch, 1830 — John M. DePuy, 1837 — Baldwin Hasbrouck, 1867
  Boiceville: Millard Davis, 1883
  Crawford: Charles H. Winfield, 1822
  Eddyville: J. Edward Conway, 1902
  Ellenville: William E. Cleary, 1849 — William H. Smart, 1868 — Joseph Y. Resnick, 1924
  Glasco: Joseph Greusel, 1837
  Greenfield: Henry H. Hathorn, 1813
  Greenhill: Charles G. De Witt, 1789
  Greenville: Eliakim Sherrill, 1813
  Highland: Abraham E. Hasbrouck, 1832 — Philip Elting, 1864 — Harcourt J. Pratt, 1866
  Kingston: Gilbert Livingston, 1712 — Charles De Witt, 1727 — Joseph Hasbrouck, 1743 — Lucas Elmendorf, 1758 — Abraham Bruyn Hasbrouck, 1791 — John Van Buren, 1799 — George S. Hawkins, 1808 — Marius Schoonmaker, 1811 — John W. Champlin, 1831 — Francis Hendricks, 1834 — George J. Smith, 1859 — John N. Cordts, 1865 — Leonard C. Crouch, 1866 — Edmund W. Wakelee, 1869 — John T. Loughran, 1889 — John M. Cashin, 1892 — Arthur S. Flemming, 1905 — W. E. 'Ned' Chilton, 1921 — Naomi Reice Buchwald, 1944
  Malden: John Bigelow, 1817 — Hervey Chittenden Calkin, 1828
  Marbletown: John Cantine, 1735 — Matthew Cantine, c.1737 — Peter Cantine, Jr., c.1747 — Moses I. Cantine, 1774 — Jacob H. DeWitt, 1784
  Modena: John C. Brodhead, 1780
  Napanoch: De Witt Clinton, 1769
  New Paltz: Abraham Hasbrouck, 1707 — Josiah Hasbrouck, 1755 — Abraham A. Deyo, 1793 — Jacob LeFever, 1830 — Sol Hasbrouck, 1833 — Frank J. LeFevre, 1874 — Jay LeFevre, 1893
  Olivebridge: Leon RisCassi, 1908
  Pleasant Valley: Thomas Russell Sherwood, 1827
  Port Ewen: Gilbert D. B. Hasbrouck, 1860 — Irving De Lamater, 1863
  Rosendale: Nathan Keator, 1838 — Theron Preston Keator, 1850
  Saugerties: Jeremiah Russell, 1786 — William F. Russell, 1812 — Francis D. Collins, 1841 — Charles Davis, 1853 — Charles E. Russell, 1868 — Jacob A. Livingston, c.1870 — Harold D. Clum, 1879
  Shamenkop: Thomas Sammons, 1762
  Shandaken: John W. Longyear, 1820
  Shandaken town: Davis Winne, 1818
  Shawangunk: Cornelius C. Schoonmaker, 1745 — Jacobus S. Bruyn, 1749 — Severyn T. Bruyn, 1749 — Johannes Bruyn, 1750 — Cornelius Bruyn, 1756 — Charles D. Bruyn, 1784 — William H. Stone, 1828
  Stone Ridge: William Lounsbery, 1831
  Wawarsing: Andrew De Witt Bruyn, 1790
  West Saugerties: Edwin Clifford Chipman, 1861
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/UL-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]