The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New York County
New York

Honorary foreign consuls in New York

   Afghanistan: Mohammad Omar Khan (Honorary Consul as of 1942-48) Abdul Razaq Ziyaee (Honorary Consul 1956-59)
   Argentina: Manuel A. Molina (Honorary Consul 1911-19) Abel Pardo (Consul General as of 1914)
   Belgium: Henry W. T. Mali (Consul 1839-67) Charles Mali (Consul 1867-98) Pierre Mali (Vice Consul 1889-99) Pierre Mali (Consul 1899-1901) John Taylor Johnston Mali (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921) Pierre Mali (Honorary Consul General 1921) John Taylor Johnston Mali (Honorary Consul as of 1935-40)
   Bolivia: J. Arturo Arguedas (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) Walter Decker (Consul General as of 1935)
   Bulgaria: Neal Dow Becker (Honorary Consul General 1923-33)
   Central America: Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul 1897-98)
   Chile: Charles R. Flint (Consul 1877-79) Hernán Romero Cordero (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Enrique Bustos (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Colombia: Phanor J. Eder (Vice Consul General 1905-07)
   Costa Rica: Charles R. Flint (Consul General 1891-96) Emilio E. Piza (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Ethiopia: John H. Shaw (Honorary Consul General as of 1935)
   Great Britain: Joseph Stanton Goodreds (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) David Loinaz (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) Richard Harold Fawcett Smith (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Guatemala: Jacob Baiz (Consul General 1874-77)
   Haiti: Ebenezer D. Bassett (Vice Consul 1898-1908) Arthur Trapp (Honorary Vice Consul 1909-11) Charles B. Vincent (Consul General as of 1935)
   Honduras: Jacob Baiz (Consul General 1885-96) Francis Spies, Jr. (Vice Consul 1887-93) Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul 1899-1901) Emilio V. Soto (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921-26)
   Iceland: Hannes Kjartonsson (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Liberia: Joseph W. Yates (Consul 1881-97) Frederick W. Yates (Consul 1898-1901)
   Luxembourg: William H. Hamilton (Honorary Consul General as of 1935) Harry Krombach (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Cornelius Staudt (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) Bernard Zimmer (Honorary Consul General as of 1950) Cornelius Staudt (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Monaco: Paul Fuller (Honorary Consul General as of 1921-35) John Dube (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Montenegro: William Frederick Dix (Honorary Consul General as of 1921)
   Nicaragua: Alexander Cotheal (Consul General 1871-94) Adolph D. Straus (Vice Consul 1891-94) Adolph D. Straus (Consul General 1895-96) Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul 1899-1900) Adolph D. Straus (Consul General 1900-12) Kiliaen Van Rensselaer (Vice Consul 1901) William C. Godfrey (Honorary Consul as of 1929) Serapio Ocampo (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Orange Free State: Charles D. Pierce (Consul General 1891-1902)
   Panama: Carlos Carbone, Jr. (Vice Consul 1919-22) Manuel de Obaldia (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Paraguay: Juan A. de la Cruz (Honorary Consul General as of 1948) Edmund Dill Scotti (Honorary Consul as of 1948)
   Portugal: Constantine F. Brunn (Vice Consul 1893-96) José de Saavedra de Figueiredo (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Romania: T. Tileston Wells (Honorary Consul General 1922-41)
   Russia: Robert Schultze (Vice Consul as of 1868)
   Salvador: Jacob Baiz (Consul General 1875-77) Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul 1891-96) Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul 1899-1900) Ernest Schernikow (Consul 1904-07)
   Serbia: Michel Poupine (Honorary Consul General as of 1914)
   Siam: Isaac T. Smith (Consul General 1887-1900) Loring Townsend Hildreth (Consul 1902-07) F. Warren Sumner (Consul General as of 1921) John C. Harland (Vice Consul as of 1921) Charles W. Atwater (Honorary Consul General as of 1935)
   Spain: Avelino Pazos (Honorary Vice Consul 1905-07) Manuel de Soler (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921)
   Switzerland: Henry Escher (Honorary Consul as of 1935-40)
   Thailand: Charles W. Atwater (Honorary Consul General as of 1940)
   Uruguay: Alfredo Metz Green (Consul 1907) Henry H. Jennings (Vice Consul as of 1914) Angel Magaña (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1948)
   Venezuela: Nicolás Veloz (Honorary Vice Consul 1915-45) Manuel Vicente Rodriguez Llamosas (Honorary Vice Consul 1943-49) Nicolás Veloz (Consul 1946-50) Luis Gonzalo Marturet (Honorary Consul 1947-50)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/NY-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]