The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jefferson County
New York

Politicians who were born in Jefferson County

  Jefferson County (no city given): David K. Cartter, 1812 — Chauncey Davis, 1812 — Lorenzo Sawyer, 1820 — William M. Stone, 1827 — Roscoe D. Dix, 1839 — Abram D. Salisbury, 1841 — Alonzo M. Leffingwell, 1842 — Daniel G. Griffin, 1848 — Orrin N. Carter, 1854
  Adams: E. N. Cooke, 1810 — W. Selden Gale, 1822 — J. Sterling Morton, 1832 — Arthur Kellogg, 1835
  Alexandria town: Orin S. Wilcox, 1898
  Near Alexandria: John Cosgrove, 1839
  Belleville: Edward B. Pond, 1833 — George E. Ellis, 1864
  Cape Vincent: Watson C. Squire, 1838 — Watson M. Rogers, 1844 — Jasper W. Cornaire, 1877
  Carthage: Albert L. Brown, 1892
  Champion: George E. Spencer, 1836
  Chaumont: Frank W. Wheeler, 1853
  Clayton: Danforth E. Ainsworth, 1848 — Alfred D. Lowe, 1850 — Charles E. Bohlen, 1904
  Deferiet: Orley N. Tooley, 1904
  Dexter: Clark R. Kimball, 1841 — William C. Dixon, 1904
  Ellisburg: Amos E. Wood, 1810 — Ira Mayhew, 1814 — Pardon C. Williams, 1842
  Great Bend: John G. Peck, 1865
  Henderson: Hiram Barney, 1811 — Horatio N. Davis, 1812 — Cushman K. Davis, 1838 — George W. Peck, 1840 — Daniel H. Burnham, 1846
  Hounsfield town: George H. Cobb, 1864
  Lorraine: Luther S. Pitkin, 1849
  Lyme town: Albert D. Shaw, 1841 — William S. Carlisle, 1843
  Mannsville: Charles Roy Nasmith, 1882
  Natural Bridge: Roy Blanchard, 1879
  Orleans: Edwin J. Tallman, 1860
  Oxbow: William H. Eustis, 1845 — Jerome H. Bishop, 1846
  Pierrepont Manor: George C. Hafford, 1862
  Plessis: Willard S. Augsbury, 1858
  Point Peninsula: Nelson Burdick, 1820 — Edward S. Minor, 1840
  Rodman: David H. Budlong, 1831 — Charles S. Plank, 1863 — Allan P. Sill, 1885
  Rutland: Isaac H. Bronson, 1802 — Edward Langworthy, 1808 — Allen C. Adsit, 1837 — Henry J. Kimball, 1889
  Sackets Harbor: John Pettit, 1807 — Erastus Wells, 1823
  Stone Mills, Orleans: Elon R. Brown, 1857
  Theresa: Roswell P. Flower, 1835 — Charles B. Clark, 1844
  Three Mile Bay: Homer E. A. Dick, 1884
  Watertown, year not specified: Hugh T. Farley
  Watertown, 1800-1899: Willard Ives, 1806 — Joel A. Matteson, 1808 — S. Clinton Hastings, 1814 — Leonard J. Farwell, 1819 — John Avery, 1824 — George A. Bagley, 1826 — Moses W. Field, 1828 — Lansing Stout, 1828 — Charles H. Sawyer, 1840 — Oscar S. Gifford, 1842 — Joseph Mullin, 1848 — Robert Lansing, 1864 — Stuart D. Lansing, 1866 — John J. Burns, 1872 — Emma S. Lansing, 1872 — John A. McPherson, 1873 — John F. O'Brien, 1874 — Roy G. Fitzgerald, 1875 — George R. Van Namee, 1877 — Charles J. Brennan, 1880 — John C. Purcell, 1885 — Francis J. McCarthy, 1889 — Allen W. Dulles, 1893
  Watertown, 1900-1999: Henry A. Wise, 1906 — Charles W. Yost, 1907 — David Aldrich Nelson, 1932 — Hugh T. Farley — William B. Vaughn, 1946 — John M. McHugh, 1948
  Near Watertown: Samuel W. Parker, 1805
  Wilna: Henry Purcell, 1848
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/JF-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]