The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Columbia County
New York

Politicians who were born in Columbia County

  Columbia County (no city given): David Van Ness, 1745 — Elijah Spencer, 1775 — Walter Patterson, c.1777 — Joel Tallmadge, Jr., 1788 — Henry Perrin Coon, 1822 — James H. Tripp, 1832 — William H. Smith, 1833 — John C. Hogeboom, c.1837 — William D. Barnes, 1856 — Earl H. Miller, c.1870
  Ancram: Albert Miller Card, 1845
  Boston Corner, Mass. (now N.Y.): William H. Barnum, 1818
  Canaan: Asa Adgate, 1767 — Daniel Cady, 1773 — John King, 1775 — William Bristol, 1775 — Daniel Greene Garnsey, 1779 — Benjamin P. Johnson, 1793 — Elias W. Leavenworth, 1803 — Wheeler H. Bristol, 1818 — Charles L. Beale, 1824
  Chatham: Nathaniel P. Tallmadge, 1795 — Charles Mosher, 1822 — William P. Lyon, 1822 — Kenneth H. Fake, 1895
  Claverack: Jacob R. Van Rensselaer, 1767 — John C. Hogeboom, 1768 — William W. Van Ness, 1776 — Robert Le Roy Livingston, 1778 — William P. Van Ness, 1778 — John Gebhard, 1782 — Killian Miller, 1785 — Robert Monell, 1787 — Henry Hogeboom, 1809 — John J. Tallmadge, 1818 — Cyrus C. Miller, c.1867 — Randall N. Saunders, 1868
  Claverly (now Ghent): John P. Van Ness, 1770
  Clermont: Robert R. Livingston, 1718 — Edward Livingston, 1764 — Thomas B. Van Buren, 1824 — Jacob H. Stewart, 1829 — Robert R. Livingston, 1888
  Germantown: Henry Rockefeller, 1778 — Thomas Fitzgerald, 1796 — Simon S. Rockefeller, 1804 — John P. Rockefeller, 1845
  Ghent: James L. Hogeboom, 1766 — Louis F. Payn, 1835
  Hillsdale: Lot Clark, 1788 — Ambrose L. Jordan, 1789 — Samuel Birdsall, 1791 — Ezra Dean, 1795 — John F. Collin, 1802 — Edward Stowe Hamlin, 1808 — Ephraim Lockwood, 1814
  Hudson: Joshua Lee, 1783 — John C. Spencer, 1788 — John Van Buren, 1810 — William Van Ness Bay, 1818 — Justus A. Ferris, 1823 — John H. Bagley, Jr., 1832 — Henry P. Ford, 1837 — Walter C. Hamm, 1847 — Coert du Bois, 1881 — Henry M. James, 1885 — Roger J. Miner, 1934
  Kinderhook: John E. Van Alen, 1749 — Barent Gardenier, 1776 — Barent Van Buren, 1776 — Martin Van Buren, 1782 — Cornelius P. Van Ness, 1782 — Thomas Beekman, 1790 — John F. Driggs, 1813 — William S. Groesbeck, 1815 — Sanford W. Smith, 1869
  Kinderhook Landing: Benjamin F. Butler, 1795
  Linlithgo: Henry W. Livingston, 1768
  Livingston: Henry I. Patrie, 1874
  New Lebanon: Ransom H. Gillet, 1800 — Abraham Phineas Grant, 1804 — Moses Y. Tilden, 1811 — Samuel J. Tilden, 1814 — George H. Williams, 1823 — Phineas W. Hitchcock, 1831 — Henry Z. Osborne, 1848
  Red Rock: Elias W. Bostwick, 1828
  Valatie: Martin H. Glynn, 1871 — Burns Barford, 1891
  Near Waterloo: Charles E. Stuart, 1810
  West Copake: Peter R. Livingston, 1789
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/CO-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]