The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Chenango County
New York

Politicians who were born in Chenango County

  Chenango County (no city given): Silas W. Cole, 1797 — Charles D. Howard, 1804 — Solomon G. Haven, 1810 — Ezra Wheeler, 1820 — Charles Camp, 1822
  Near Afton: Carlton J. H. Hayes, 1882
  Bainbridge: Irving D. Tillman, 1886 — Floyd E. Anderson, 1891 — Irving M. Ives, 1896 — Warren M. Anderson, 1915
  Brisben: Samuel E. Jones, 1876
  Columbus: Daniel E. Whitmore, 1825
  Coventry: Francis R. E. Cornell, 1821 — Rufus Mallory, 1831
  German: James P. Hill, 1878
  Greene: John Birdsall, 1802
  Guilford: John G. Mersereau, 1799 — Laman Ingersoll, 1805 — Norman B. Willey, 1838 — Leon C. Rhodes, 1877
  Near Guilford: Ira B. Hyde, 1838
  Lakeville: Alphonse J. Lespinasse, 1854
  Lincklaen: John B. Finch, 1852 — Adelbert D. Edwards, 1856
  McDonough: George Sherwood, 1821
  New Berlin: Joel Burlingame, 1800 — Delazon Smith, 1816 — Anson Burlingame, 1820 — Nathan S. Beardslee, 1848 — Samuel A. Jones, 1861
  Norwich: Gail Borden, Jr., 1801 — William M. Fenton, 1808 — Sidney T. Fairchild, 1808 — Jesse D. Bright, 1812 — John Pettit Borden, 1812 — Elias P. Pellet, 1837 — John C. Covert, 1839 — Melvin C. Eaton, 1891 — David E. Lee, 1926
  Otselic: George W. Ray, 1844
  Oxford: Solomon Bundy, 1823 — Thomas Ryan, 1837 — Edgar A. Pearsall, 1843 — Ralph H. Loomis, 1885
  Near Oxford: George M. Curtis, 1844
  Pharsalia: Gilbert DeLaMatyr, 1825
  Pitcher: Jethro A. Hatch, 1837 — Harvey D. Hinman, 1864
  Plymouth: Martin R. Sackett, 1855
  Sherburne: William P. Lynde, 1817 — John Brisbin, 1818 — J. Burritt Smith, 1852 — Arnon L. Squiers, 1869
  Smithville: David Sherwood, 1835
  Smyrna: William Henry Kelsey, 1812
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/CN-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]