The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Nevada: Governors

Governors of Nevada, 1864-2019 (May be incomplete!)
Henry G. Blasdel 1864-71 Lewis R. Bradley 1871-79 John H. Kinkead 1879-83 Jewett W. Adams 1883-87 Charles C. Stevenson 1887-90 Frank Bell 1890-91 Roswell K. Colcord 1891-95 John E. Jones 1895-96 Reinhold Sadler 1896-1903 John Sparks 1903-08 Denver S. Dickerson 1908-11 Tasker L. Oddie 1911-15 Emmet D. Boyle 1915-23 James G. Scrugham 1923-27 Frederick B. Balzar 1927-34 Morley Griswold 1934-35 Richard Kirman 1935-39 Edward P. Carville 1939-45 Vail Pittman 1945-51 Charles H. Russell 1951-59 F. Grant Sawyer 1959-67 Paul Laxalt 1967-71 Mike O'Callaghan 1971-79 Robert List 1979-83 Richard H. Bryan 1983-89 Robert J. Miller 1989-98 Kenny C. Guinn 1999-2006 Jim Gibbons 2007-11 Brian Sandoval 2011-19 Steve Sisolak 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1864 Nov 8: Henry G. Blasdel (Rep), elected; David E. Buel (Dem), defeated.
  • 1866 Nov 6: Henry G. Blasdel (Rep), elected; John D. Winters (Dem), defeated.
  • 1870 Nov 8: Lewis R. Bradley (Dem), elected; Frederick Augustus Tritle (Rep), defeated.
  • 1874 Nov 3: Lewis R. Bradley (Dem), elected; J. C. Hazlett (Rep), defeated.
  • 1878 Nov 5: John H. Kinkead (Rep), elected; Lewis R. Bradley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1882 Nov 7: Jewett W. Adams (Dem), elected; Enoch Strother (Rep), defeated.
  • 1886 Nov 2: Charles C. Stevenson (Rep), elected; Jewett W. Adams (Dem), defeated.
  • 1890 Nov 4: Roswell K. Colcord (Rep), elected; Thomas Winters (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894 Nov 6: John E. Jones (Silver), elected; A. C. Cleveland (Rep), defeated; G. E. Peckham (Populist), defeated; Theodore M. Winters (Dem), defeated.
  • 1896 Apr 10: John E. Jones, died in office.
  • 1898 Nov 8: Reinhold Sadler (Silver), elected; William McMillan (Rep), defeated; George Russell (Dem), defeated; J. B. McCulloch (Populist), defeated.
  • 1902 Nov 4: John Sparks (Silver & Dem), elected; A. C. Cleveland (Rep), defeated.
  • 1906 Nov 6: John Sparks (Silver & Dem), elected; James F. Mitchell (Rep), defeated; Thomas B. Casey (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1908 May 22: John Sparks, died in office.
  • 1910 Nov 8: Tasker L. Oddie (Rep), elected; Denver S. Dickerson (Dem), defeated; Henry F. Gegax (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1914 Nov 3: Emmet D. Boyle (Dem), elected; Tasker L. Oddie (Rep), defeated; W. A. Morgan (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Emmet D. Boyle (Dem), elected; Tasker L. Oddie (Rep), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: James G. Scrugham (Dem), elected; John H. Miller (Rep), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Frederick B. Balzar (Rep), elected; James G. Scrugham (Dem), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Frederick B. Balzar (Rep), elected; Charles L. Richards (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934: Archie C. Grant (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934 Mar 21: Frederick B. Balzar, died in office.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Richard Kirman (Dem), elected; Morley Griswold (Rep), defeated; L. C. Branson (Ind), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Edward P. Carville (Dem), elected; John A. Fulton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Edward P. Carville (Dem), elected; A. V. Tallman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Vail Pittman (Dem), elected; Melvin E. Jepson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Charles H. Russell (Rep), elected; Vail Pittman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Charles H. Russell (Rep), elected; Vail Pittman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958: Harvey Dickerson, defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: F. Grant Sawyer (Dem), elected; Charles H. Russell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1962 Nov 6: F. Grant Sawyer (Dem), elected; Oran K. Gragson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Paul Laxalt (Rep), elected; F. Grant Sawyer (Dem), defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Mike O'Callaghan (Dem), elected; Ed Fike (Rep), defeated; Charles E. Springer (Ind), defeated; Daniel M. Hansen (Independent American), defeated.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Mike O'Callaghan (Dem), elected; Shirley Crumpler (Rep), defeated; James R. Houston (Independent American), defeated.
  • 1994: Jan Laverty Jones (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1994: Jim Gibbons (Rep), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Daniel M. Hansen (Independent American), defeated.
  • 1998: Jan Laverty Jones (Dem), defeated.
  • 2006: James B. Gibson (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2006: Melody Damayo (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2006: Dina Titus (Dem), defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Christopher H. Hansen (Independent American), defeated.
  • 2014 Jun 10: Abdul H. Shabazz (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2018 Jun 12: Christina Giunchigliani (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NV/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]