The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Jersey: Vice-Chancellors of the Court of Chancery

Vice-Chancellors of the New Jersey Court of Chancery, 1871-1947 (May be incomplete!)
Amzi Dodd 1871-75 Abraham V. Van Fleet 1875-94 Amzi Dodd 1881-82 John Taylor Bird 1882-96 Henry C. Pitney 1889-1907 Robert S. Green 1890-95 John R. Emery 1895-1915 Alfred Reed 1895-1904 Martin P. Grey 1896-1906 Frederic W. Stevens 1896-1919 Eugene Stevenson 1901-22 James J. Bergen 1904-07 Lindley M. Garrison 1904-13 Edmund B. Leaming 1906-27 James E. Howell 1907-16 Edwin R. Walker 1907-12 Vivian M. Lewis 1912-27 John Griffin 1913-27 John H. Backes 1913-27 Merritt Lane 1916-19 Malcolm G. Buchanan 1919-27 James F. Fielder 1919-46 John E. Foster 1919-25 John Bentley 1922-27 Alonzo Church 1922-27 Robert H. Ingersoll 1922-27 Maja Leon Berry 1925-27 Henry T. Kays 1935-47

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1894 Dec 25: Abraham V. Van Fleet, died in office.
  • 1895 May 7: Robert S. Green, died in office.
  • 1916 Sep 26: James E. Howell, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/ofc/vchan.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]