The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Warren County
New Jersey

Warren County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Warren County (incomplete!): Howard Creveling, as of 1913 — Philip Miller, as of 1914 — Frank J. Alpaugh, as of 1919-21 — Miller Frace, as of 1925 — Charles Fichtel, as of 1927 — Edward T. Reilly, as of 1945 — Charles Paulis, as of 1959

Republican Party chairs in Warren County (incomplete!): Arthur Knowles, as of 1914-19 — George Potts, as of 1920-21 — William Chalmers, as of 1925-27 — James D. Mingle, as of 1945 — Herbert T. Buckenmyer, as of 1959 — Lester J. Toth, as of 1964

Warren County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: James K. Swayze
   1888, St. Louis: Johnston Cornish
   1904, St. Louis: Johnston Cornish
   1912, Baltimore: William Kline
   1916, St. Louis: Johnston Cornish — John A. Wildrick
   1924, New York: Thomas Barber
   1928, Houston: Sylvester C. Smith, Jr.
   1932, Chicago: William H. Fisher — Grace M. Nixon
   1940, Chicago: Constance Wilson Rosecrans — Harry Runyon — Benjamin Rymon
   1944, Chicago: Harry Runyon — Edna G. Sitgreaves
   1948, Philadelphia: Ruth M. Hoagland — Robert B. Meyner
   1952, Chicago: Robert B. Meyner
   1956, Chicago: Robert B. Meyner — Thomas C. Swick
   1964, Atlantic City: Dorothy A. Burns — Melville Carty, Sr. — Robert S. Conahay III — Robert B. Meyner — Arthur W. Paini
   1968, Chicago: Robert B. Meyner
   1976, New York: Sandra Davis — Robert B. Meyner
   1980, New York: Frederick J. Katz, Jr. — Helen S. Meyner
   1988, Atlanta: James S. DeBosh
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: R. S. Kennedy
   1860, Chicago: A. P. Bethonde — John I. Blair
   1868, Chicago: John I. Blair
   1888, Chicago: John L. Blair
   1900, Philadelphia: Joseph H. Fulper — John I. Blair Reiley
   1912, Chicago: William W. Taylor
   1916, Chicago: John I. Blair Reiley
   1920, Chicago: A. Lincoln Reiley
   1924, Cleveland: John I. Blair Reiley
   1928, Kansas City: William T. Tallman
   1932, Chicago: Ramsey Reese
   1940, Philadelphia: Robert M. Vansyckel
   1944, Chicago: James D. Mingle
   1948, Philadelphia: Clendenin Ryan
   1952, Chicago: Thomas Tomeo — Clara F. Walker
   1956, San Francisco: Clara F. Walker
   1960, Chicago: Wayne Dumont, Jr. — Thomas Tomeo
   1964, San Francisco: Frank J. Percarpio
   1968, Miami Beach: Lester J. Toth
   1972, Miami Beach: Ruth M. Cary
   1980, Detroit: Donald J. Albanese
   2008, St. Paul: Sal Simonetti
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/WA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]