The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Union County
New Jersey

Politicians who were born in Union County

  Cranford: Thomas Casey Greene, 1896 — Joseph Weintraub, 1908
  Elizabeth, year not specified: Mildred B. Hughes — J. Christian Bollwage
  Elizabeth, 1700-1799: Aaron D. Woodruff, 1762 — John Hopkins Clarke, 1789 — William Halstead, 1794
  Elizabeth, 1800-1899: William Nelson Stevens, 1813 — William J. Magie, 1832 — John W. Beaumont, 1858 — Nicholas Murray Butler, 1862 — William Sulzer, 1863 — Augustus W. Schwartz, 1867 — Warren W. Cunningham, 1885 — Charles A. Otto, Jr., 1888 — Edward Jordan Dimock, 1890 — Isaiah Matlack, 1895
  Elizabeth, 1900-1999: James P. Mitchell, 1900 — Ralph A. Villani, 1901 — Donald Barr Chidsey, 1902 — Achibald A. Wacker, 1903 — Nelson F. Stamler, 1909 — Tony Tarracino, 1916 — Nicholas St. John La Corte, 1918 — Mildred B. Hughes — John J. Fay, 1927 — Matthew J. Rinaldo, 1931 — J. Christian Bollwage — John D. Bates, 1946 — Michael Chertoff, 1953 — Kevin McNulty, 1954 — Joseph DeIorio, 1966
  Elizabethtown, Essex County (now Elizabeth, Union County): Stephen Crane, 1709 — John De Hart, 1727 — William Burnet, 1730 — Elias Dayton, 1737 — James Manning, 1738 — Robert Troup, 1757 — Jonathan Dayton, 1760 — Isaac H. Williamson, 1767 — William Chetwood, 1771 — Joseph H. Crane, 1782 — Matthias W. Baldwin, 1795 — Isaac W. Scudder, 1816
  Near Elizabethtown, Essex County (now Elizabeth): Abraham Clark, 1726
  New Providence, Essex County (now Union County): Apollos M. Elmer, 1808
  Plainfield: David J. Hill, 1850 — Frederick W. Yates, 1866 — William N. Runyon, 1871 — Sidney C. Crane, c.1874 — Edith H. Colby, 1876 — Thomas M. Muir, 1879 — Thorn Lord, 1906 — Emanuel J. Evans, 1907 — Archibald Cox, 1912 — Harrison A. Williams, 1919 — Jack E. Bronston, 1922 — Carol Bellamy, 1942
  Rahway: Benjamin M. Price, 1809 — James H. Terrill, c.1862 — John M. Savage, 1864 — Frederick C. Hyer, 1874 — J. H. Thayer Martin, 1875 — Francis V. Dobbins, c.1876 — Alfred C. Brooks, c.1897 — Wayne T. Gilchrest, 1946 — Christopher H. Smith, 1953
  Roselle: Charles A. Sulzer, 1879
  Scot's Plains, Essex County (now Scotch Plains, Union County): Ezra Darby, 1768
  Scotch Plains: Thomas Ward Osborn, 1836 — Donald T. DiFrancesco, 1944
  Springfield: James W. Gaff, 1816 — George A. Halsey, 1827
  Summit: Arthur K. Watson, 1919 — Francis T. Underhill, Jr., 1921 — Levin H. Campbell, 1927
  Union Township: John Kean, 1852 — Hamilton F. Kean, 1862
  Vauxhall: Amalya Lyle Kearse, 1937
  Westfield: Arthur N. Pierson, 1867
   See also New Jersey birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/UN-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]