The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Somerset County
New Jersey

Somerset County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Somerset County (incomplete!): William J. DeMond, as of 1913-14 — William Prout, as of 1919 — Frank L. Cleary, as of 1920 — Andrew E. Kenney, as of 1921 — Harvey S. Smalley, as of 1925 — George W. Allgair, as of 1927 — Frank Ryan, as of 1945 — Arthur S. Meredith, as of 1959 — Orlando L. Abbruzzese, 1973-81

Republican Party chairs in Somerset County (incomplete!): Edward E. Cooper, as of 1914-19 — James A. Metz, Jr., as of 1920 — Edward E. Cooper, as of 1921-25 — George O. Smalley, as of 1927 — Ralph J. Smalley, as of 1945 — Lewis J. Gray, as of 1959-64

Somerset County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Joshua Doughty
   1876, St. Louis: Calvin Corle
   1912, Baltimore: George M. LaMonte
   1916, St. Louis: William L. Saunders
   1924, New York: William J. Kirby — Harvey J. Moynihan — William L. Saunders
   1928, Houston: Harvey J. Moynihan
   1932, Chicago: Harvey J. Moynihan
   1940, Chicago: Archibald S. Alexander — James H. R. Cromwell — William J. DeMond — Harvey J. Moynihan
   1944, Chicago: Michael J. Mullin — Frank Ryan
   1948, Philadelphia: Archibald S. Alexander — Joseph Halpern — George H. Shay
   1952, Chicago: Archibald S. Alexander — George H. Shay
   1956, Chicago: Archibald S. Alexander — Charles W. Engelhard — Arthur S. Meredith
   1964, Atlantic City: Charles W. Engelhard — Grace Gurisic — B. Thomas Leahy — Philip J. Levin
   1968, Chicago: Richard J. Driver — Daniel M. Gaby — Irving E. Shaffer
   1976, New York: James A. Auerbach — Frank R. Nero
   1980, New York: Orlando L. Abbruzzese — Dennis Auciello — Michael J. Ceponis — Kanak Dutta — John F. Guerrera — Nancy Henry — Harrison A. Williams
   1988, Atlanta: Marita Clickner — John J. Degnan — Marie Paris
   1996, Chicago: Upendra Chivukula — John Loos — Robert Raymar — William Terrell
   2000, Los Angeles: Upendra Chivukula
   2004, Boston: Upendra Chivukula — Zenon Christodoulou — Elizabeth Hutcheon — Rajul Shah
   2008, Denver: Cecilia X. Birge — Upendra Chivukula — Peg Schaffer — Parakash Shah
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William D. Waterman
   1888, Chicago: S. Snowden Cook
   1896, St. Louis: Charles Place
   1900, Philadelphia: Frederick P. Olcott
   1904, Chicago: James B. Duke
   1912, Chicago: James E. Bathgate, Jr.
   1916, Chicago: C. Ledyard Blair — Ogden H. Hammond
   1920, Chicago: Charles A. Eaton — Joseph S. Frelinghuysen
   1924, Cleveland: Charles A. Eaton — Joseph S. Frelinghuysen — Ogden H. Hammond
   1928, Kansas City: George B. Post, Jr.
   1932, Chicago: Ogden H. Hammond — Mrs. L. H. Kingsford — Kate Prentice Schley
   1936, Cleveland: Reeve Schley
   1940, Philadelphia: Reeve Schley
   1944, Chicago: Joseph S. Frelinghuysen — Reeve Schley
   1948, Philadelphia: Norman C. Woolston
   1952, Chicago: William E. Bunney — C. Douglas Dillon — Anderson Fowler
   1956, San Francisco: Anderson Fowler — Donald Hyde
   1960, Chicago: Millicent Fenwick — Malcolm S. Forbes — Harry Frelinghuysen — Philip B. Hofmann
   1964, San Francisco: John H. Ewing — Philip B. Hofmann — John Kean — Richard B. Sellars
   1968, Miami Beach: Raymond H. Bateman — C. Douglas Dillon — John H. Ewing
   1972, Miami Beach: Raymond H. Bateman — Nicholas F. Brady — Brigid M. Shanley
   2004, New York: Michael P. Hsing
   2008, St. Paul: Henry Kane — Thomas H. Kean — Tom Wilson
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Thomas A. Hartwell
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/SO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]