The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Somerset County
New Jersey

Politicians who were born in Somerset County

  Somerset County (no city given): John Dow, 1804
  Basking Ridge: Isaac Southard, 1783 — Samuel L. Southard, 1787 — William L. Dayton, 1807
  Bedminster Township: James Linn, 1749
  Bound Brook: William Griffith, 1766 — Isaac Newton Blackford, 1786
  Bridge Point: Christopher Augustus Bergen, 1841
  Bromley Ridge: John Chambers, 1780
  East Millstone: P. Davis Oakey, 1861
  Franklin Park: Clifford P. Case, 1904
  Franklin Township: Theodore Frelinghuysen, 1787
  Hillsborough: Peter D. Vroom, 1791
  Kingston: Orrin R. Judd, c.1871
  Lamington: John Van Dyke, 1807
  Millstone: Ferdinand Schureman Schenck, 1790 — Frederick T. Frelinghuysen, 1817
  North Plainfield: Ralph J. Smalley, 1895
  Raritan: Joseph S. Frelinghuysen, 1869
  Rocky Hill: John M. Berrien, 1781
  Near Scotch Plains: Samuel Swan, 1771
  Somerset: Thomas G. Talmadge, 1801
  Somerville: Theodore Runyon, 1822 — James J. Bergen, 1847 — Newton Hazelton Porter, 1877 — Charles J. Melton, 1917 — Raymond H. Bateman, 1927 — Christopher Bateman, 1957 — Jack M. Ciattarelli, 1961 — Jeffrey Chiesa, 1965
  Near Somerville: Frederick Frelinghuysen, 1753
   See also New Jersey birthplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/SO-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]