The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ocean County
New Jersey

Ocean County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Ocean County (incomplete!): David A. Veeder, as of 1913 — E. C. Disbrow, as of 1914 — Lawrence D. Van Note, as of 1919-20 — Chester A. Grant, as of 1921 — Addison Hugh Moore, as of 1925 — Henry H. Gross, as of 1927 — Calvin Conklin, as of 1945 — Francis A. Tetreault, as of 1959

Republican Party chairs in Ocean County (incomplete!): Charles H. Conover, as of 1914 — Alfred W. Brown, Jr., as of 1919-21 — Alfred W. Brown, Jr., as of 1925 — Herbert Willis, as of 1927 — H. Warren Mease, as of 1945 — Floyd W. Mease, as of 1959-64 — George R. Gilmore, as of 2000

Ocean County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: George F. Fort
   1880, Cincinnati: Rufus Blodgett
   1912, Baltimore: Joshua Hilliard — George C. Low
   1916, St. Louis: Chester A. Grant
   1924, New York: Gilbert Clayton — Caroline Johnson
   1928, Houston: J. Mercer Davis
   1932, Chicago: Arthur Gorman Gallagher
   1940, Chicago: Katherine Tracey
   1944, Chicago: Joseph Takacs
   1948, Philadelphia: Leslie F. Cranmer
   1952, Chicago: Antonia A. Eigner
   1956, Chicago: Michael P. Silverman
   1964, Atlantic City: Bruno Agnoli — Alexander R. Bolen, Sr. — Albert J. Cucci — Phoebe Krupnick
   1976, New York: Robert A. Gasser — Thomas J. Muccifori
   1980, New York: Daniel J. Carluccio — Edward J. Liston, Jr.
   1988, Atlanta: John Paul Doyle — Marlene Lynch Ford — Stephen C. Hornik — Caryl Russo — John F. Russo — Janice Stanzione
   1996, Chicago: Russell K. Corby — Denise Coulter — Edithe Fulton — Jane E. Halligan — Stephen C. Hornik
   2004, Boston: William Coulter — Nilda R. Frulio — Edithe Fulton — Frederick Potter — Alfonso Santoro
   2008, Denver: Nilda R. Frulio — Marta Harrison — Robert Stern — Justin Woska
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: Archibald R. Pharo
   1888, Chicago: George T. Cranmer — Abram Lower
   1904, Chicago: B. S. Crosby — Samuel S. Taylor
   1912, Chicago: Joseph B. Hoff — William Howard Jeffrey
   1916, Chicago: Edward Crabbe — H. Ely Havens
   1924, Cleveland: W. Burtis Havens — Charles L. Pack — Herbert Willis
   1928, Kansas City: Thomas A. Mathis
   1932, Chicago: Wilfred H. Jayne, Jr.
   1936, Cleveland: Herman J. Samuelson
   1940, Philadelphia: Thomas A. Mathis
   1944, Chicago: Thomas A. Mathis — Herman J. Samuelson
   1948, Philadelphia: George Willits Parker
   1952, Chicago: Philip Maimone — W. Steelman Mathis
   1956, San Francisco: Philip Maimone
   1960, Chicago: Philip Maimone
   1964, San Francisco: James G. Henry — W. Elmer Seaman, Jr.
   1968, Miami Beach: William T. Hiering
   1972, Miami Beach: Franklin V. Fischer — Barbara L. Steele — Eleanor Day Winmill
   2004, New York: Lawrence E. Bathgate — George R. Gilmore — Jack Kelly — Teri Lacey — Robert W. Singer
   2008, St. Paul: Lawrence E. Bathgate — George R. Gilmore — Joanne Gilmore — Virginia Haines — Barbara Lanuto — Susan Rogers — Ruthanne Scaturro — T. Robin Visconi
   2012, Tampa: George R. Gilmore
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/OC-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]