The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Morris County
New Jersey

Morris County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Morris County (incomplete!): Samuel N. Brant, as of 1913 — Edward P. Meany, as of 1914 — Samuel N. Brant, as of 1919 — C. Franklin Wilson, as of 1920 — R. M. Barry, as of 1921 — James J. Lyons, as of 1925-27 — Robert A. Nolan, as of 1945 — John A. Kiser, as of 1959 — Paul M. Bangiola, as of 2000

Republican Party chairs in Morris County (incomplete!): Charles B. Bradley, as of 1914 — William F. Redmond, as of 1919 — Charles W. Ennis, as of 1920-21 — Murray H. Coggeshall, as of 1925 — Morris Coggeshall, as of 1927 — E. Bertram Mott, as of 1945 — Arnold Ladd, as of 1959 — Mackenzie Williams, as of 1964 — Joan Bramhall, 1980 — Lois D. Johnson, as of 2000

Morris County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: Andrew B. Cobb
   1912, Baltimore: Samuel N. Brant — E. E. Burke — William L. R. Lynd
   1916, St. Louis: Pierson M. Chamberlain — Robert D. Foote — Walter V. Mesler
   1924, New York: James H. Bolitho — Orville V. Meslar — Monell Sayre
   1928, Houston: Albert H. Holland — Anna R. Richter
   1932, Chicago: Rosina M. Dunne — Orville V. Meslar
   1940, Chicago: Elizabeth G. Cardinale — William A. Hegarty — Lloyd B. Tredway
   1944, Chicago: William A. Hegarty
   1948, Philadelphia: Edward F. Broderick — Lillian A. Nolan
   1952, Chicago: E. Marco Stirone
   1956, Chicago: Robert S. Conahay — Robert A. Nolan
   1964, Atlantic City: Frances E. Costello — Agnes L. Glaab — Arthur D. Krauser — E. Marco Stirone
   1968, Chicago: Winston W. Bostick — Malcolm L. Goggin — Edwin C. Kruse — S. Lloyd Newberry — George A. Pierce — John P. Snyder — Jere B. Stern
   1976, New York: Paul N. Bontempo — Hugh E. DeFazio, Jr. — Lucille Ann Egan — Patricia Manahan — Marian V. Smith
   1980, New York: Carmen A. Flores — Robert C. Grant — Dorothy H. Johnson — Ann Klein — Christine L. Leon — Ruby Reimer — Stephen B. Richer — Barbara Castellana Stasiak
   1988, Atlanta: Paul N. Bontempo — Bill Bradley — E. Drew Britcher — Gordon A. MacInnes, Jr.
   1996, Chicago: Marceil Letts — Gordon A. MacInnes, Jr.
   2004, Boston: Jo Ann Byrnes — Michael Jackson — Jeanette Leehr — Marceil Letts — Blair B. MacInnes
   2008, Denver: Cristina Defazio — Kimberly Hurdman — Lorraine E. Mullen — Phil Sellinger — Diane Zitek
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Edward W. Whelpley
   1860, Chicago: William G. Lathrop
   1888, Chicago: Edmund D. Halsey — H. O. Marsh
   1896, St. Louis: George W. Stickle
   1900, Philadelphia: George W. Stickle
   1904, Chicago: James H. McGraw
   1912, Chicago: Charles W. Ennis — Robert F. Oram
   1916, Chicago: Robert B. Cornish — William F. Redmond
   1920, Chicago: William F. Birch — Charles W. Ennis — Ridley Watts
   1924, Cleveland: Margaret D. Baker — Murray H. Coggeshall — Ridley Watts
   1928, Kansas City: Murray H. Coggeshall — Sylvia S. Lum — Arthur Whitney
   1932, Chicago: Margaret D. Baker — Murray H. Coggeshall — E. Bertram Mott
   1936, Cleveland: Elmer S. King — Paul Moore
   1940, Philadelphia: Willard V. King
   1944, Chicago: George A. Easley — Laura Slade Mills
   1948, Philadelphia: Francis W. Ruzicka — Hugh J. Strong — Spencer Weed
   1952, Chicago: Hugh J. Strong — David Young III
   1956, San Francisco: William D. Birch — Corinne A. Chubb — Elden Mills
   1960, Chicago: James M. Henderson — Walter T. Margetts, Jr. — J. Duncan Pitney
   1964, San Francisco: Peter Frelinghuysen, Jr. — Thomas J. Hillery — Josephine S. Margetts — Harry L. Sears
   1968, Miami Beach: Peter Frelinghuysen, Jr. — Joseph J. Maraziti — Harry L. Sears — Peter W. Thomas
   1972, Miami Beach: Peter Frelinghuysen, Jr. — Harry L. Sears — James P. Vreeland
   1980, Detroit: John H. Dorsey
   1988, New Orleans: Joan Bramhall
   2004, New York: Alex DeCroce — Christina Ramirez
   2008, St. Paul: Alex DeCroce — Debra Eckert-Casha — Phyllis J. Florek — Rodney P. Frelinghuysen — John Inglesino — John J. Murphy — Edward V. Rochford — Joseph R. Schmuckler
   2012, Tampa: Chris Christie — Jay Webber
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Ephraim Marsh
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/MR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]