The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Monmouth County
New Jersey

Politicians who died in Monmouth County

  Allentown: John Imlay, 1792 — James H. Imlay, 1823 — George Holcombe, 1828 — William A. Newell, 1901
  Asbury Park: Frederick S. Gibbs, 1903 — C. Meyer Zulick, 1926 — Clarence V. Mooney, 1944 — Albert J. Westlake, 1951
  Atlantic Highlands: William A. Prickitt, 1929 — Solomon Porter Hood, 1943
  Avon-by-the-Sea: Leo P. Carlin, 1999
  Elberon: James A. Garfield, 1881 — Edward Murphy, Jr., 1911
  Freehold: Charles Haight, 1891 — William H. Vredenburgh, 1920 — Charles S. Joelson, 1999
  Holmdel: Henry E. Ackerson, Jr., 1970
  Keansburg: James P. Maher, 1946
  Long Branch: John Grimké, 1819 — Rufus Blodgett, 1910 — James J. Heffernan, 1967 — Marcus Daly, 1969 — David T. Wilentz, 1988
  Middletown: Thomas J. Brogan, 1965
  Near Middletown: Benjamin Bennet, 1840
  Monmouth: James Cox, 1810
  Monmouth Beach: John W. Ferdon, 1884
  Neptune: George A. Armstrong, 1970
  Neptune Township: Silvio J. Failla, 1972 — Alan J. Karcher, 1999
  New Shrewsbury (now Tinton Falls): Charles Irwin Stengle, 1953
  Ocean Grove: André L. Bagger, 1895
  Red Bank: Abram I. Elkus, 1947 — Hugh J. Addonizio, 1981
  Sea Bright: Lindley M. Garrison, 1932
  Sea Girt: Bird W. Spencer, 1931
  Shrewsbury: Robert Hunter Morris, 1764 — E. Delafield Smith, 1878
  Near Shrewsbury: Nathaniel Scudder, 1781
  Spring Lake: Oliver H. Brown, 1924 — Vincent J. Murphy, 1976 — James Aloysius Coolahan, 1986
  Spring Lake Heights: Anthony Thomas Augelli, 1985
   See also New Jersey deathplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/MO-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]