The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hunterdon County
New Jersey

Hunterdon County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Hunterdon County (incomplete!): Erastus W. Sutton, as of 1913 — Abraham C. Hulsizer, as of 1914 — Erastus W. Sutton, as of 1919-21 — Erastus W. Sutton, as of 1925-27 — Andrew Cray, as of 1945 — Chester L. Errico, as of 1959

Republican Party chairs in Hunterdon County (incomplete!): B. Frank Barkley, as of 1913-14 — Arthur F. Foran, as of 1919-20 — Judiah Higgins, as of 1921 — Percival Chrystie, as of 1925 — Ryman Herr, as of 1927 — John F. Schenck, as of 1945 — E. R. N. Douglass, as of 1959 — Walter E. Foran, as of 1964

Hunterdon County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: William C. Gebhardt — Paul A. Queen
   1916, St. Louis: George F. Martens, Jr.
   1924, New York: Elizabeth P. Norris
   1928, Houston: Elizabeth P. Norris
   1932, Chicago: George N. Robinson — Nellie R. Sharp
   1940, Chicago: Luella Alleger — Anthony M. Hauck, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: Thomas Mullen — Mildred A. Preen
   1948, Philadelphia: Thomas Mullen — Mildred A. Preen
   1952, Chicago: Edward H. Quick
   1956, Chicago: Frank W. Bohren
   1964, Atlantic City: Frank W. Bohren — Chester L. Errico — Rudolph Wishy
   1976, New York: Michael Gold — Barbara McConnell
   1980, New York: Elaine Hand — Barbara McConnell
   1988, Atlanta: Joan Haberle
   1996, Chicago: Joan Haberle
   2004, Boston: Veronica Goldberg
   2008, Denver: Karen J. Kominsky — Chan Leung — John L. Neu
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Henry Race
   1860, Chicago: Andrew N. Voorehees
   1888, Chicago: H. B. Herr
   1896, St. Louis: Stephen K. Large
   1900, Philadelphia: Charles N. Reading
   1904, Chicago: John A. Shields
   1912, Chicago: John H. Fretz
   1916, Chicago: James S. Studdiford
   1920, Chicago: Arthur F. Foran
   1924, Cleveland: James S. Studdiford
   1928, Kansas City: Percival Chrystie
   1932, Chicago: Arthur F. Foran
   1936, Cleveland: Judiah Higgins
   1940, Philadelphia: James P. Selvage
   1944, Chicago: Arthur F. Foran
   1952, Chicago: Samuel L. Bodine — Eleanor Schley Todd
   1956, San Francisco: Samuel L. Bodine
   1960, Chicago: Webster B. Todd
   1964, San Francisco: Walter E. Foran — Webster B. Todd
   1968, Miami Beach: Douglas E. Gimson — Webster B. Todd
   1972, Miami Beach: Henry Y. Kuhl — Webster B. Todd
   2004, New York: Henry Y. Kuhl
   2008, St. Paul: Henry Y. Kuhl — Dick Zimmer
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/HN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]