The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hunterdon County
New Jersey

Politicians who were born in Hunterdon County

  Hunterdon County (no city given): Daniel Morgan, 1736 — Alexander Martin, 1740 — Bowes R. Reed, 1740 — John Manners, 1786 — George B. Guinnip, 1794 — Josephus V. D. Sutphen, 1802 — George Opdyke, 1805 — Elmer H. Wene, 1892
  Amwell Township (part now in Lambertville): George Holcombe, 1786
  Near Amwell (now Mt. Airy): Charles Pettit, 1736
  Annandale: Woodbury Holt Apgar, 1861
  Bethlehem: James Parker, 1776
  Bethlehem Township: Johnston Cornish, 1858
  Bloomsbury: John Taylor Bird, 1829
  Flemington: John Andre Hanna, 1762 — John Patterson Bryan Maxwell, 1804 — John R. Emery, 1842 — William E. Purcell, 1856 — John L. Slattery, 1876
  Hampton: Theodore T. Baylor, 1866
  High Bridge: Charles A. Hoffman, 1863
  Kingwood Township: Edward P. Stout, 1876
  Lambertville: John Lambert, 1746 — Henry J. Pierson, 1872 — John E. Hunt, 1908
  Lebanon: Alvah A. Clark, 1840
  Mt. Airy: John F. Ten Broeck, 1831
  Milford: William Lee, 1822
  Pleasant Run: David H. Agans, 1868 — Alvah H. Cole, 1884
  Readington: Jonathan Jennings, 1784 — John De Mott, 1790 — Elisha Egbert, 1806
  Readington Township: David Jennings, 1787
  Ringoes: James Buchanan, 1839
  Near Ringoes: Horace G. Prall, 1881
  White House: Isaac G. Farlee, 1787 — James N. Pidcock, 1836
  Near Zion: William Kirkpatrick, 1769
   See also New Jersey birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/HN-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]