The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cape May County
New Jersey

Cape May County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Cape May County (incomplete!): William C. Hendee, as of 1913 — George N. Smith, as of 1914 — Samuel A. Lanning, as of 1919-21 — Edward M. Miller, as of 1925 — Jerry E. Chambers, as of 1927 — F. Mulford Stevens, as of 1945 — Harold E. Winder, Sr., as of 1959

Republican Party chairs in Cape May County (incomplete!): A. Carlton Hildreth, as of 1913-14 — James McLinden, as of 1919-21 — Walter H. Treen, as of 1925 — Smith Endicott, as of 1927 — Bertram M. Darby, as of 1945 — Francis Townsend, as of 1959 — Ralph Jones, as of 1964

Cape May County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: J. Thompson Baker
   1916, St. Louis: Edmund O. Howell, Jr.
   1924, New York: Edmund O. Howell, Jr. — Edward M. Miller
   1928, Houston: Fredrick Metz
   1932, Chicago: Edward M. Miller
   1936, Philadelphia: French B. Loveland
   1940, Chicago: French B. Loveland — Patience R. Ludlam
   1944, Chicago: Benjamin M. Cohen — F. Mulford Stevens
   1948, Philadelphia: Charlotte Eldredge — Nora M. Shortt
   1952, Chicago: Alice L. Backman
   1956, Chicago: William J. Brown — Carlton E. Mason
   1964, Atlantic City: Carlton E. Mason — Joseph Tenenbaum — Harold E. Winder, Sr.
   1976, New York: Charles H. James
   1988, Atlanta: Raymond A. Batten — Idella Edwards — William J. Hughes
   2004, Boston: Charles Wowkanech
   2008, Denver: Richard Tolson
Republican National Conventions:
   1904, Chicago: Lewis M. Cresse
   1912, Chicago: William H. Bright — Christopher S. Hand
   1916, Chicago: Christopher S. Hand
   1920, Chicago: William H. Bright — Joseph G. Champion
   1924, Cleveland: Peter L. Peterson — Lewis T. Stevens
   1928, Kansas City: Charles C. Read
   1932, Chicago: Mabel Clay — Charles C. Read
   1936, Cleveland: D. Miles Rigor
   1940, Philadelphia: Israel T. Woolson
   1944, Chicago: I. Grant Scott
   1948, Philadelphia: I. Grant Scott
   1952, Chicago: Anthony J. Cafiero
   1956, San Francisco: Charles W. Sandman, Jr.
   1960, Chicago: Charles W. Sandman, Jr.
   1964, San Francisco: Charles W. Sandman, Jr.
   1968, Miami Beach: Charles W. Sandman, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Anthony Catanoso
   2004, New York: Tracy Desiderio
   2008, St. Paul: Michael J. Donohue — Lynda Pagliughi

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/CM-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]