The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cape May County
New Jersey

Politicians who lived in Cape May County

  Cape May County (no city given):
  Cape May County, 1750-1799: Jeremiah Eldridge — Jesse Hand — Matthew Whillden
  Cape May County, 1800-1849: Nathaniel Holmes, Jr. — Richard S. Ludlam — James L. Smith — John Stites — Samuel Townsend — Reuben Willets
  Cape May County, 1850-1899: Thomas Beesley — Eugene C. Cole — Jesse H. Diverty — Downs Edmunds — Enoch Edmunds — Richard D. Edmunds — Joseph H. Hanes — Alvin P. Hildreth — Walter S. Leaming — Furman L. Ludlam — Jesse D. Ludlam — Samuel R. Magonagle — Ellis H. Marshall — Lemuel E. Miller — Waters B. Miller — Abram Reeves — Leaming M. Rice — Daniel Schellinger — William T. Stevens — Joshua Swain, Jr. — Wilmon W. Ware — Mackey Williams — Alexander Young
  Cape May County, 1900-1949: Andrew C. Boswell — John E. Boswell — Charles T. Campbell — John K. Carroll — G. Fred Cronecker — J. Clement Foster — James M. E. Hildreth — William C. Hunt — Robert J. Kay — Mark Lake — Ellis H. Marshall — Frank B. Mecray — William Porter — George Redding — Evans G. Slaughter — B. Frank Smith — Nathaniel C. Smith — Ralph T. Stevens — Corsville E. Stille — Walter P. Taylor
  Cape May County, 1950-1999: Fred C. Barthelmess — Augustus S. Goetz — L. William Haines — John F. Holland — James A. O'Neill — Nathaniel C. Smith — William E. Sturm — Anthony J. Volpe — Walter C. Wright, Jr.
  Anglesea (now North Wildwood): James McLinden — Peter L. Peterson — Harry C. Wheaton
  Avalon: Edmund O. Howell, Jr. — Lynda Pagliughi — Harold E. Winder, Sr.
  Beesley's Point: Mabel Clay
  Belleplain: Carlton E. Mason
  Cape May:
  Cape May, 1800-1899: Jonathan S. Garrison — Robert E. Hand — Joseph E. Hughes — Frederick J. Melvin — Waters B. Miller — Furman L. Richardson — John W. Thompson — Joseph Ware
  Cape May, 1900-1999: Alice L. Backman — Frank W. Cassedy — Jerry E. Chambers — Charlotte Eldredge — Robert E. Greenfield — Christopher S. Hand — T. Millet Hand — Walter S. Leaming — Edward M. Miller — Lemuel E. Miller, Jr. — Sol Needles — Irene Pharo — Furman L. Richardson — Charles W. Sandman, Jr. — I. Grant Scott — Lewis T. Stevens — Thomas Alfred Stevens — James E. Taylor — Joseph Tenenbaum — William F. Williams
  Cape May, 2000-2023: David Kurkowski
  Cape May Court House: Michael J. Donohue — Smith Endicott — A. Carlton Hildreth — Jonathan F. Leaming — Patience R. Ludlam — Edmund L. Ross — F. Mulford Stevens — Jeff Van Drew
  Cold Spring: Thomas H. Hughes
  Dennisville: Howard H. Halsey — Richard S. Leaming
  Erma: Robert E. Hand
  Erma Park: Charles W. Sandman, Jr.
  Goshen: Andrea Lippi
  North Cape May: Tom Greto
  North Wildwood: Anthony J. Cafiero — James S. Cafiero — Anthony Catanoso — Helen G. Mace
  Ocean City: Edward B. Bowker — William H. Bright — W. H. Burrell — Joseph G. Champion — Lewis M. Cresse — Bertram M. Darby — John Esposito — George R. Greis — William J. Hughes — French B. Loveland — Salvatore Perillo — Charles C. Read — Clyde W. Struble — E. M. Sutton — Richard Tolson — Francis Townsend — Charles Wowkanech
  Rio Grande: A. Carlton Hildreth
  Sea Isle City: Raymond A. Batten — Tracy Desiderio
  Seaville: Susan Adelizzi Schmidt
  Stone Harbor: Clarence Charles Newcomer
  Tuckahoe: William J. Brown
  Villas: Walt W. Craig
  Wildwood: J. Thompson Baker — William H. Bright — David S. DeWeese — Christopher S. Hand — William C. Hendee — Charles H. James — Ralph Jones — Samuel A. Lanning — William B. Liverzey — Frederick W. McMurray — Fredrick Metz — Guy F. Muziani — Phelps Phelps — Nora M. Shortt — George N. Smith — Walter H. Treen — Israel T. Woolson
  Wildwood Crest: Robert E. Kay — Marvin D. Perskie — D. Miles Rigor
  Woodbine: Benjamin M. Cohen — Idella Edwards
   See also New Jersey areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/CM-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]