The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Burlington County
New Jersey

Burlington County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Burlington County (incomplete!): Richard P. Hughes, as of 1913 — Francis H. Reed, as of 1914 — J. Mercer Davis, as of 1919 — Joseph R. Sisom, as of 1920 — J. Mercer Davis, as of 1921-25 — Frank S. Absalom, as of 1927 — James M. Davis, Jr., as of 1945 — Charles Fellner, as of 1959

Republican Party chairs in Burlington County (incomplete!): Griffith W. Lewis, as of 1910 — Harry E. Dubell, as of 1913 — Ernest Watts, as of 1914 — Joseph L. Thomas, as of 1919-21 — Charles R. Stout, as of 1925-27 — William I. Leonard, Jr., as of 1945 — James Logan, Jr., as of 1959 — John E. Dimon, as of 1964

Burlington County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: James W. Wall
   1864, Chicago: Job H. Gaskill
   1912, Baltimore: Thomas H. Birch
   1916, St. Louis: William H. Absalom
   1924, New York: J. Mercer Davis — Florence W. Jacoby
   1928, Houston: Florence W. Jacoby — William B. Vandegrift
   1932, Chicago: Mervil E. Haas — George M. Hillman, Jr.
   1940, Chicago: Elizabeth R. Cowperthwait — Francis S. Grogan — George M. Hillman, Jr. — Robert R. Kane
   1944, Chicago: Edwin C. B. Clark — W. Thomas McGann
   1948, Philadelphia: Edwin L. Davis — James J. Davis, Jr. — James M. Davis, Jr. — Florence L. Wills
   1952, Chicago: Charlotte Earnshaw
   1956, Chicago: Herman Belopolsky — Michael Chanti
   1964, Atlantic City: Herman Belopolsky — Edwin L. Davis — G. Edward Koenig — Eleanor M. Pall
   1976, New York: George H. Barbour — John A. Sweeney
   1980, New York: George H. Barbour — Evelyn Christenson — Ruby J. Dorough — William S. Lang — James B. Smith — Thomas J. Stubblefield — Pamela N. Tighe
   1988, Atlanta: Priscilla B. Anderson — Ronald E. Bookbinder — Catherine A. Costa — Sarah Dowling — Thomas P. Foy — Diane R. Quinton — Gloria Soto — L. Midge Trainor — Meg Worthington
   1996, Chicago: Jack Casey — Sarah Dowling — Alice Furia — Rita R. Mason — Meg Worthington
   2000, Los Angeles: Raymond M. Pocino
   2004, Boston: Ida L. Castro — Alice Furia — Beatrice Holley — Colleen Karr — Preston Taylor, Jr.
   2008, Denver: Sidney Camp — Sherryl Gordon — Jacqueline A. Jennings — Richard Locklear — Michael Muller — Tracy L. Riley
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William Parry — G. B. Raymond
   1888, Chicago: Joseph H. Gaskill
   1900, Philadelphia: Samuel W. Beldon — Henry J. Irick
   1904, Chicago: Howard Burr — Griffith W. Lewis
   1916, Chicago: Harry L. Knight
   1920, Chicago: William H. Worrell
   1924, Cleveland: Charles H. Folwell — Alice E. G. Sherman
   1928, Kansas City: George de B. Keim
   1932, Chicago: George de B. Keim — Mrs. E. G. Terry
   1936, Cleveland: Pearl M. Bridegum — Alma M. Evans — George deB. Klein
   1940, Philadelphia: George de B. Keim — Thomas N. McCarter, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: F. Wallis Armstrong, Jr. — Norman F. S. Russell
   1948, Philadelphia: Allen S. Hatcher — Lewis M. Parker — Norman F. S. Russell
   1952, Chicago: J. Gardner Crowell — J. Roland Rhodes — Leon E. Todd
   1956, San Francisco: Claude N. Campbell — J. Gardner Crowell — J. Roland Rhodes
   1960, Chicago: J. Gardner Crowell — John P. Schlicher
   1964, San Francisco: John E. Dimon — Joseph M. McCrane, Jr.
   1968, Miami Beach: John E. Dimon — Edwin B. Forsythe — Joseph M. McCrane, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Frederick C. Adams — John E. Dimon — Suzanne P. Miller — Samuel O. Paglione — Joan Plowman
   2004, New York: Diane Allen
   2008, St. Paul: Ann Marie Emmons — Aubrey Fenton — Amanda E. Layton — David F. Norcross — Richard C. Strobel
   2012, Tampa: Aubrey Fenton
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Craig Moffett
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/BU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]