The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Burlington County
New Jersey

Politicians who were born in Burlington County

  Burlington County (no city given): Ebenezer Tucker, 1758 — John Lanning, 1780 — William Norton Shinn, 1782 — William Rockhill, 1793 — Benjamin Wood Richards, 1797 — Richard Stockton Field, 1803 — Charles Sexton, c.1809
  Beverly: Alfred W. Mitchell, 1856
  Burlington: Richard Smith, 1735 — William Coxe, Jr., 1762 — William Hill Wells, 1769 — James Fenimore Cooper, 1789 — E. Burd Grubb, 1841 — Griffith W. Lewis, 1862 — Francis M. Taitt, 1862 — Thomas H. Birch, 1875 — Henry S. Haines, 1907 — William F. Hyland, 1923
  Camp Dix: Barbara F. Vucanovich, 1921
  Florence: Frank S. Katzenbach III, 1907 — Richard J. Hughes, 1909
  Johnstown: Reuben O. Moon, 1847
  Lumberton: Clifford R. Powell, 1893
  Mt. Holly: William Rossell, 1760 — John L. N. Stratton, 1817 — Samuel Carr Forker, 1821 — Joseph H. Gaskill, 1850 — Nelson B. Gaskill, 1875 — William H. Parry, 1877 — Ed Gillespie, 1961
  Medford: Charles W. Pitman, c.1816
  Moorestown: Samuel Laning, 1765 — Emmor Roberts, 1890
  New Gretna: Thomas A. Mathis, 1869
  Pemberton: Bushrod W. Lott, 1826 — J. Franklin Fort, 1852 — Harold B. Wells, 1876
  Near Pemberton: Joseph H. Forsyth, 1879
  Riverside: Lester A. Drenk, 1903 — A. Raymond Randolph, 1943
  Riverton: Lloyd C. Griscom, 1872
  Springfield Township: Thomas Newbold, 1760 — Job H. Gaskill, 1804 — Blanchard H. White, 1864
  Vincentown: Job H. Lippincott, 1842
  Near Vincentown: Samuel A. Dobbins, 1814
  Wrightstown: Samuel G. Wright, 1781
   See also New Jersey birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/BU-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]