The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bergen County
New Jersey

Politicians who were born in Bergen County

  Chestnut Ridge (now part of Montvale): Jacob R. Wortendyke, 1818
  Cliffside Park: B. Duncan McClave, 1889
  Cresskill: Edna B. Conklin, 1875 — John Ellis, c.1913 — Betsy Markey, 1956
  Dundee Lake: Cornelius A. Cadmus, 1844
  Eastwood (now part of River Vale): Elmer W. Demarest, 1870
  Englewood: Clinton Hamlin Blake, Jr., 1883 — Corliss Lamont, 1902 — Malcolm Muir, 1914 — Malcolm S. Forbes, 1919 — Alexander B. Trowbridge, 1929 — Ron de Lugo, 1930 — Peter F. Secchia, 1937 — Steven R. Rothman, 1952 — Stephen C. Acropolis, 1957 — Scott Garrett, 1959 — Indira Talwani, 1960 — Brian R. Martinotti, 1961
  Hackensack: Richard Varick, 1753 — George Cassedy, 1783 — George Zabriskie, 1790 — Alfred T. Holley, 1872 — Garret G. Ackerson, Jr., 1904 — William B. Widnall, 1906 — Eugene E. Demarest, 1907 — John Howard Morrow, 1910 — George B. Harper, 1918 — Dean A. Gallo, 1935 — Jim Tullis, 1941 — Stewart R. Dalzell, 1943 — Bob Franks, 1951
  Leonia: Frank C. Osmers, Jr., 1907
  Midland Park: Warren J. Terhune, 1869 — Garrett W. Hagedorn, 1910
  North Arlington: Thomas J. Gilloon, 1949
  Oradell: Daniel I. Demarest, 1836
  Ridgewood: Christopher J. Connors, 1956
  Rutherford: William H. J. Ely, 1891 — Farleigh Dickinson, Jr., c.1920 — Louis Frey, Jr., 1934
  Schraalenburgh (now Dumont): Clayton Demarest, 1865
  Slotterdam (now part of Elmwood Park): Cornelius G. Garrison, 1801
  Small Lots (now part of Fair Lawn): Andrew H. Demarest, 1844
  Spring Valley (now Paramus): Charles H. Voorhis, 1833
  Teaneck: Leonie M. Brinkema, 1944 — Donna M. Christian-Christensen, 1945 — Steve Lonegan, 1956 — Cathy Ann Bencivengo, 1958
  Tenafly: Jacob Westervelt, 1800 — Thomas D. Thacher, 1881
  Wallington: Henry Helstoski, 1925
  West Englewood: Thomas R. Byrne, 1923
  Wyckoff: John Rathbone Ramsey, 1862
   See also New Jersey birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/BE-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]