The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Atlantic County
New Jersey

Atlantic County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Atlantic County (incomplete!): William L. Black, as of 1913-14 — Harry Lovett, as of 1919-21 — Charles I. Lafferty, as of 1925-27 — John H. Marsh, as of 1945 — Thomas C. Stewart, as of 1959 — Arthur W. Ponzio, as of 1965

Republican Party chairs in Atlantic County (incomplete!): T. C. McConnell, as of 1913 — Tobias L. McConnell, as of 1914 — James Lewis O'Donnell, as of 1919-21 — Robert M. Johnston, as of 1925-27 — Frank S. Farley, as of 1945-47 — Frank S. Farley, as of 1959-64

Atlantic County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: William B. Loudenslager
   1916, St. Louis: William L. Black
   1924, New York: Lillian K. DeVanny — Louis A. Repetto
   1928, Houston: Charles I. Lafferty — Rebecca Estell Winston
   1932, Chicago: Irma M. Adams — Charles I. Lafferty — Joseph W. Mott
   1936, Philadelphia: William H. Smathers
   1940, Chicago: Margaret D. Bills — Hannah V. O'Neill — Howard H. Reed — William H. Smathers — George J. Thomas
   1944, Chicago: Miriam Conover — Edison Hedges — Lewis L. Walter
   1948, Philadelphia: William H. Smathers — Mai F. Surran — Lewis L. Walter — John C. Woulfe
   1952, Chicago: Edison Hedges
   1956, Chicago: William F. Casey — Irene Popper
   1964, Atlantic City: William F. Casey — Anthony P. Miller, Jr. — Janet Perrella
   1976, New York: Augustus C. Harmon — Mary Jane Kelly — Lori Mooney
   1980, New York: Anna Marie Codario — Lincoln Green — Paul E. Hirschy — John F. Kennedy — Lydia E. Munoz — Margaret W. Roche — Joseph L. Walsh
   1988, Atlanta: Lori Mooney
   1996, Chicago: Lori Mooney
   2004, Boston: James Carroll — Alisa Cooper — Lizette Delgado
   2008, Denver: Alisa Cooper — Mary M. Slomine — Damon Tyner
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William Moore
   1884, Chicago: John J. Gardner
   1888, Chicago: Shepherd S. Hudson
   1896, St. Louis: George Clinton
   1900, Philadelphia: Lewis T. Bryant
   1904, Chicago: John J. Gardner
   1912, Chicago: Joseph A. Marvel
   1916, Chicago: Winfield F. Cozart — Charles D. White
   1920, Chicago: Walter E. Edge
   1924, Cleveland: Walter J. Buzby — Walter E. Edge
   1928, Kansas City: Isaac Bacharach — Walter E. Edge
   1932, Chicago: Max E. Blatt — Walter E. Edge — Charles D. White
   1936, Cleveland: Walter E. Edge — Ernest Eger — Christian R. Lindback — Emerson L. Richards
   1940, Philadelphia: Walter E. Edge — Bennett E. Tousley — Sara S. Washington
   1944, Chicago: Walter E. Edge — Sara S. Washington
   1948, Philadelphia: Walter E. Edge — Frank S. Farley — Sara S. Washington
   1952, Chicago: Frank S. Farley — Frank D. Fiore — Charles Penza, Jr.
   1956, San Francisco: Frank S. Farley — Frank D. Fiore — Charles Penza, Jr.
   1960, Chicago: Frank S. Farley — Frank D. Fiore — John Henry Hester — Charles Penza, Jr.
   1964, San Francisco: Frank S. Farley — Michael J. Fiore — W. Oscar Harris
   1968, Miami Beach: Frank S. Farley — L. Edison Mathis
   1972, Miami Beach: Joseph F. Abate — Frank S. Farley
   1988, New Orleans: James L. Usry
   2004, New York: William L. Gormley
   2008, St. Paul: John M. Bettis — James Curcio — Keith Davis — Stephanie Zarych
   2012, Tampa: Sonia G. Hams
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NJ/AT-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]