The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Merrimack County
New Hampshire

Merrimack County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Merrimack County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Merrimack County: [none currently in database]

Merrimack County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: John H. George
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Josiah Minot
   1864, Chicago: John H. Pearson — Aaron Whittemore
   1876, St. Louis: Edwin C. Bailey — Alvah W. Sulloway
   1880, Cincinnati: Alvah W. Sulloway
   1888, St. Louis: Alvah W. Sulloway
   1912, Baltimore: Clarence E. Carr — Seth W. Jones
   1916, St. Louis: A. Chester Clark — Robert C. Murchie
   1920, San Francisco: Robert Jackson — Robert C. Murchie — James S. Shaw
   1924, New York: Robert Jackson — Margaret C. Martin — Robert C. Murchie — Ruth Ralph — Frank A. Rogers
   1928, Houston: Agnes Collins Dunn — George E. Farrand — Willis H. Flint — Margaret C. Martin — Ruth Ralph
   1932, Chicago: Robert C. Murchie — Ruth Ralph
   1936, Philadelphia: Robert C. Murchie — Ruth Ralph — Robert H. Sanderson
   1940, Chicago: Charles E. Green — Robert C. Murchie — Henry J. Proulx
   1944, Chicago: Charles A. Bartlett — Edgar G. Bellerose — Robert C. Murchie — Henry J. Proulx — Major L. Rodd — John W. Stanley
   1952, Chicago: Eugene S. Daniell, Jr. — Clarence W. Towse
   1956, Chicago: Eugene S. Daniell, Jr.
   1960, Los Angeles: Donald W. Cushing — Charles P. Johnson — Robert J. Morin — Robert E. Plourde
   1972, Miami Beach: Miriam D. Dunn — Mary Metiver
   1980, New York: Maura Carroll — Eugene S. Daniell, Jr. — Margaret Fitz — Jeanne Joslin — Anne Rowe — Charles Whittemore
   1996, Chicago: Carolyn Diamon — Pat Russell — Edward E. Shumaker III — Mary Jane Wallner
   2004, Boston: Deborah Butler — Ann M. Kuster — Sylvia B. Larsen — Alexander Lee — Brenda Maclellan — Robert Maclellan — Ricia McMahon — Stephen Shurtleff — Paul Twomey
   2008, Denver: Raymond C. Buckley — James M. Demers — Edgar Helms — Paul W. Hodes — Ann M. Kuster — Sylvia B. Larsen — Carol F. Moore — Terry Shumaker — Erin B. Thesing — Robert Werner
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: George G. Fogg — Benjamin Pettingill — Austin F. Pike
   1864, Baltimore: Onslow Stearns
   1872, Philadelphia: Daniel Barnard — A. M. Stuart
   1880, Chicago: William E. Chandler — Benjamin A. Kimball — William E. Stevens
   1884, Chicago: Herman W. Greene — Edward H. Rollins
   1888, Chicago: Jacob H. Gallinger
   1900, Philadelphia: Jacob H. Gallinger
   1904, Chicago: Jacob H. Gallinger
   1908, Chicago: Jacob H. Gallinger — George H. Moses — William F. Thayer
   1912, Chicago: William F. Thayer
   1916, Chicago: George H. Moses
   1924, Cleveland: John W. Pearson
   1928, Kansas City: Grace W. Hill — Obe G. Morrison — George H. Moses — John G. Winant
   1932, Chicago: Bernard B. Chase — George H. Moses — Benjamin H. Orr — Bertha R. Page — John G. Winant
   1936, Cleveland: Charles W. Howard — George H. Moses — George H. Rolfe — Esther H. Toland — Robert W. Upton
   1940, Philadelphia: H. Styles Bridges — George W. Conway — George H. Moses — George H. Rolfe — Robert W. Upton
   1944, Chicago: Robert O. Blood — George H. Moses — Frank J. Sulloway — Robert W. Upton
   1948, Philadelphia: Robert O. Blood — M. Harrison Duffy — Robert W. Upton
   1952, Chicago: Robert O. Blood — Basil D. French — J. Duane Squires — E. Harold Young
   1956, San Francisco: Robert O. Blood — H. Styles Bridges — John P. H. Chandler, Jr. — Philip S. Dunlap — J. Duane Squires — Robert W. Upton
   1960, Chicago: Robert O. Blood — John P. H. Chandler, Jr. — Margaret B. Chandler — Robert W. Upton
   1964, San Francisco: Harold W. Ayer — Arthur E. Bean, Jr. — Spencer S. Dodd — William P. Grove — J. Richard Jackman — Irving H. Soden — J. Duane Squires
   1972, Miami Beach: Robert P. Bass, Jr. — Stanley M. Brown — John P. H. Chandler, Jr. — Mrs. Hilary P. Cleveland — Charles G. Douglas III — Richard D. Hanson
   1988, New Orleans: David Currier — Charles G. Douglas III — George Freese — Gordon J. Humphrey — Robert Lewellen — Thomas D. Rath — Peter J. Spaulding — Richard Upton — Paul Young
   2004, New York: Virginia C. Beecher — Susan Duprey — Joel Maiola — Jayne Millerick — Thomas D. Rath
   2008, St. Paul: Charles G. Douglas III — Stephen Duprey — Scott Hilliard — Rich Killion — Jayne Millerick — Thomas D. Rath — Dan St. Hilaire — Peter J. Spaulding
   2016, Cleveland: Bruce Berke — Stephen Duprey — Harold French — Gordon J. Humphrey — Suzan Lehmann — Thomas D. Rath — David Tille
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/ME-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]