The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Carroll County
New Hampshire

Carroll County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Carroll County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Carroll County: [none currently in database]

Carroll County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: Henry B. Rust
   1900, Kansas City: John B. Nash
   1908, Denver: John B. Nash
   1916, St. Louis: James O. Gerry — William Pitman
   1920, San Francisco: James O. Gerry
   1924, New York: James O. Gerry
   1940, Chicago: James F. Donahue
   1944, Chicago: Arthur A. Greene
   1952, Chicago: Carlton G. Rayno
   1972, Miami Beach: Helen Nute
   1980, New York: Elizabeth Murphy
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: William M. Weed
   1872, Philadelphia: Samuel D. Quarles
   1880, Chicago: Joel Eastman — S. Girard Norcross
   1896, St. Louis: A. Crosby Kennett
   1900, Philadelphia: A. Crosby Kennett
   1904, Chicago: Lycurgus Pitman
   1908, Chicago: James L. Gibson
   1912, Chicago: Lyford A. Merrow
   1916, Chicago: George A. Carpenter
   1924, Cleveland: Sewall W. Abbott
   1928, Kansas City: William J. Britton — J. Randolph Coolidge — Frank E. Kennett
   1932, Chicago: William J. Britton
   1936, Cleveland: Burnham B. Davis
   1940, Philadelphia: Virgil D. White
   1944, Chicago: Scott C. W. Simpson
   1948, Philadelphia: Virgil D. White
   1952, Chicago: George H. Rockwell — Walter G. White
   1960, Chicago: Neil C. Cates — Harold W. Thorne
   1964, San Francisco: Frank E. Kennett, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Stewart Lamprey
   1988, New Orleans: Robert C. Smith — William H. Zeliff, Jr.
   2016, Cleveland: William Cuccio — Paul Speltz
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Joel Eastman
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NH/CA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]