The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Nebraska: Governors

Governors of Nebraska, 1866-2012 (May be incomplete!)
David C. Butler 1867-71 William H. James 1871-73 Robert W. Furnas 1873-75 Silas Garber 1875-79 Albinus Nance 1879-83 James W. Dawes 1883-87 John M. Thayer 1887-91 James E. Boyd 1891 John M. Thayer 1891-92 James E. Boyd 1892-93 Lorenzo Crounse 1893-95 Silas A. Holcomb 1895-99 William A. Poynter 1899-1901 Charles H. Dietrich 1901 Ezra P. Savage 1901-03 John Hopwood Mickey 1903-07 George L. Sheldon 1907-09 Ashton C. Shallenberger 1909-11 Chester H. Aldrich 1911-13 John H. Morehead 1913-17 M. Keith Neville 1917-19 Sam R. McKelvie 1919-23 Charles W. Bryan 1923-25 Adam McMullen 1925-29 Arthur J. Weaver 1929-31 Charles W. Bryan 1931-35 Robert LeRoy Cochran 1935-41 Dwight P. Griswold 1941-47 Val Peterson 1947-53 Robert B. Crosby 1953-55 Victor E. Anderson 1955-59 Ralph G. Brooks 1959-60 Dwight W. Burney 1960-61 Frank B. Morrison 1961-67 Norbert T. Tiemann 1967-71 J. James Exon 1971-79 Charles Thone 1979-83 Bob Kerrey 1983-87 Kay A. Orr 1987-91 Ben Nelson 1991-99 Mike Johanns 1999-2005 Dave Heineman 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1866 Jun 2: David C. Butler (Rep), elected; J. Sterling Morton (Dem), defeated.
  • 1868 Oct 13: David C. Butler (Rep), elected; T. R. Porter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1870 Oct 11: David C. Butler (Rep), elected; J. H. Croxton (Dem), defeated.
  • 1871 Jun 2: David C. Butler, removed.
  • 1872 Oct 8: Robert W. Furnas (Rep), elected; H. C. Lett (Dem & Liberal Republican), defeated.
  • 1874 Oct 13: Silas Garber (Rep), elected; Albert Tuxbury (Dem), defeated; J. F. Gardner (People's Independent), defeated; Jarvis S. Church (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1876 Nov 7: Silas Garber (Rep), elected; Paren England (Dem), defeated; J. F. Gardner (People's Independent), defeated.
  • 1878 Nov 5: Albinus Nance (Rep), elected; W. H. Webster (Dem), defeated; Levi G. Todd (People's Independent), defeated.
  • 1880 Nov 2: Albinus Nance (Rep), elected; Thomas W. Tipton (Dem), defeated; Oliver T. B. Williams (People's Independent), defeated.
  • 1882 Nov 7: James W. Dawes (Rep), elected; J. Sterling Morton (Dem), defeated; E. P. Ingersoll (People's Independent), defeated.
  • 1902: William H. Thompson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1906: Ashton C. Shallenberger (Dem), defeated.
  • 1908: Ashton C. Shallenberger (Dem), elected.
  • 1910: James C. Dahlman, defeated.
  • 1912 Nov 5: John H. Morehead (Dem & People's Independent), elected; Chester H. Aldrich (Rep & Progressive), defeated; Clyde J. Wright (Socialist), defeated; Nathan Wilson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1914 Nov 3: John H. Morehead (Dem & People's Independent), elected; Robert B. Howell (Rep), defeated; Harry E. Sackett (Progressive), defeated; George C. Porter (Socialist), defeated; Nathan Wilson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1916 Nov 7: M. Keith Neville (Dem & People's Independent), elected; Abraham L. Sutton (Rep), defeated; B. Z. Miller (Socialist), defeated; J. D. Graves (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Adam McMullen (Rep), elected; John N. Norton (Dem), defeated; Dan H. Butler (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1926: Charles W. Bryan, defeated.
  • 1928: Charles W. Bryan, defeated.
  • 1932: Dwight P. Griswold (Rep), defeated.
  • 1934: Eugene D. O'Sullivan, defeated for nomination; Robert LeRoy Cochran, elected; Dwight P. Griswold (Rep), defeated; Terry Carpenter, defeated.
  • 1936: Robert LeRoy Cochran, elected; Dwight P. Griswold (Rep), elected.
  • 1938: Charles W. Bryan, defeated; Robert LeRoy Cochran, elected.
  • 1940: Arthur L. Miller, defeated for nomination.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Dwight P. Griswold (Rep), elected; Terry Carpenter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1942: Dwight P. Griswold (Rep), elected.
  • 1944: Dwight P. Griswold (Rep), elected.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Val Peterson (Rep), elected; Frank Sorrell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1950: Terry Carpenter, defeated for nomination.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Victor E. Anderson (Rep), elected; William Ritchie (Dem), defeated.
  • 1960: Terry Carpenter, defeated for nomination.
  • 1960: Robert B. Conrad (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1960 Sep 9: Ralph G. Brooks, died in office.
  • 1962: Frederick Andrew Seaton, defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Norbert T. Tiemann (Rep), elected; Philip C. Sorensen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1986: Kay A. Orr (Rep), elected; Helen Boosalis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1990: Kay A. Orr (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998: Jon Christensen (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998: Mike Johanns (Rep), elected.
  • 2002: Mike Johanns (Rep), elected.
  • 2005 Jan 20: Mike Johanns, resigned.
  • 2006: Tom Osborne (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2006: Dave Heineman (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]