The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Sarpy County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Sarpy County

Index to Locations

  • Bellevue Bellevue Cemetery
  • Bellevue St. Johns Cemetery

    Bellevue Cemetery
    Bellevue, Sarpy County, Nebraska
    Politicians buried here:
      Fenner Ferguson (1814-1859) — of Albany, Albany County, N.Y.; Albion, Calhoun County, Mich.; Bellevue, Sarpy County, Neb. Born in Nassau, Rensselaer County, N.Y., April 25, 1814. Lawyer; member of Michigan state house of representatives from Calhoun County, 1849; justice of Nebraska territorial supreme court, 1854-57; chief justice of Nebraska territorial supreme court, 1854-57; Delegate to U.S. Congress from Nebraska Territory, 1857-59. Died in Bellevue, Sarpy County, Neb., October 11, 1859 (age 45 years, 169 days). Interment at Bellevue Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    St. Johns Cemetery
    Bellevue, Sarpy County, Nebraska
    Politicians buried here:
      Bernice R. Labedz (1919-2008) — also known as "Mamma Labedz" — of Omaha, Douglas County, Neb. Born in Omaha, Douglas County, Neb., September 19, 1919. Member of Nebraska unicameral legislature 5th District, 1976-92. Female. Catholic. Polish ancestry. Advocate for anti-abortion legislation. Died, from congestive heart failure at a nursing home in Papillion, Sarpy County, Neb., November 15, 2008 (age 89 years, 57 days). Interment at St. Johns Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married to Stanley J. Labedz.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/SA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]