The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Holt County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Holt County

Index to Locations

  • Atkinson Woodlawn Cemetery
  • O'Neill Prospect Hill Cemetery

    Woodlawn Cemetery
    Atkinson, Holt County, Nebraska
    Founded 1884
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      Frank John Brady (1894-1964) — also known as Frank J. Brady — of Atkinson, Holt County, Neb. Born in Atkinson, Holt County, Neb., September 15, 1894. Republican. Served in the U.S. Army during World War I; hay and grain dealer; member of Nebraska state senate 22nd District, 1935-37; member of Nebraska unicameral legislature 28th District, 1937-40; delegate to Republican National Convention from Nebraska, 1944, 1948. Methodist. Member, Alpha Sigma Phi; Izaak Walton League; Freemasons; Scottish Rite Masons. Died in 1964 (age about 69 years). Interment at Woodlawn Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John F. Brady and Mary Ella (Shaw) Brady; married, July 12, 1930, to Louella Olson.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Prospect Hill Cemetery
    O'Neill, Holt County, Nebraska
    Politicians buried here:
      Moses Pierce Kinkaid (1856-1922) — also known as Moses P. Kinkaid — of Henry County, Ill.; Pierre, Hughes County, S.Dak.; O'Neill, Holt County, Neb. Born near Morgantown, Monongalia County, Va. (now W.Va.), January 24, 1856. Republican. Member of Nebraska state senate, 1883-85; district judge in Nebraska 12th District, 1887-1900; appointed 1887; candidate for justice of Nebraska state supreme court, 1896; U.S. Representative from Nebraska 6th District, 1903-22; died in office 1922. Died July 6, 1922 (age 66 years, 163 days). Interment at Prospect Hill Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Kinkaid and Amelia Kinkaid.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/HO-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]