The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Harnett County
North Carolina

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Harnett County

Index to Locations

  • Coats Coats Cemetery
  • Dunn Greenwood Cemetery
  • Lillington Harnett Memorial Park

    Coats Cemetery
    Coats, Harnett County, North Carolina
    Politicians buried here:
      John McKay Byrd (1867-1934) — also known as John M. Byrd — of Lillington, Harnett County, N.C.; Coats, Harnett County, N.C. Born in Harnett County, N.C., June 25, 1867. Republican. Lumber business; Harnett County Register of Deeds, 1894-98; Harnett County Sheriff, 1914-16; delegate to Republican National Convention from North Carolina, 1920 (alternate), 1928; member of North Carolina state house of representatives, 1928-30; candidate for U.S. Representative from North Carolina 7th District, 1932. Died, from intestinal obstruction and uremia, in Coats, Harnett County, N.C., April 11, 1934 (age 66 years, 290 days). Interment at Coats Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Reddin Byrd (1828-1897) and Elizabeth (Searles) Byrd; married 1889 to Anna Matthews (1867-1940).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Greenwood Cemetery
    Dunn, Harnett County, North Carolina
    Politicians buried here:
      Hannibal Lafayette Godwin (1873-1929) — also known as Hannibal L. Godwin — of Dunn, Harnett County, N.C. Born near Dunn, Harnett County, N.C., November 3, 1873. Democrat. Lawyer; member of North Carolina state senate, 1903-04; Presidential Elector for North Carolina, 1904; member of North Carolina Democratic State Executive Committee, 1904-06; U.S. Representative from North Carolina 6th District, 1907-21; delegate to Democratic National Convention from North Carolina, 1924. Died June 9, 1929 (age 55 years, 218 days). Interment at Greenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married, December 23, 1896, to Mattie Barnes.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Permillas Arten Lee (1880-1955) — also known as P. A. Lee — of Dunn, Harnett County, N.C. Born in Johnston County, N.C., June 15, 1880. Democrat. Pharmacist; member of North Carolina state senate 12th District, 1935. Methodist. Member, Freemasons. Died in Dunn, Harnett County, N.C., March 21, 1955 (age 74 years, 279 days). Interment at Greenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Jesse Lee and Henrietta (Tart) Lee; married 1909 to Hautence Thornton.

    Harnett Memorial Park
    Lillington, Harnett County, North Carolina
    Politicians buried here:
      Walter Pierce Byrd (1867-1950) — also known as Walter P. Byrd — of Lillington, Harnett County, N.C. Born in Harnett County, N.C., June 26, 1867. Republican. Lawyer; served in the U.S. Army during the Spanish-American War; member of North Carolina state senate 14th District, 1921-22. Died, from uremia, in the VA Hospital at Fayetteville, Cumberland County, N.C., March 22, 1950 (age 82 years, 269 days). Interment at Harnett Memorial Park.
      Relatives: Son of Andrew Jackson 'Jack' Byrd (1815-1901) and Margaret Caroline (Shaw) Byrd (1825-1911); married, November 3, 1909, to Zula Walton Tomlinson (1875-1964).
      Epitaph: "A Good Name Is Rather To Be Chosen Than Great Riches."
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/HA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]