The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montana: Secretaries of State

Montana Secretaries of State, 1889-2022 (May be incomplete!)
Louis Rotwitt 1889-97 Thomas S. Hogan 1897-1901 George M. Hays 1901-05 Abraham N. Yoder 1905-11 Thomas M. Swindlehurst 1911-13 Adelbert M. Alderson 1913-17 Charles T. Stewart 1917-22 Robert N. Hawkins 1922-27 William Powers 1927-28 John W. Mountjoy 1928 Wilfred E. Harmon 1929-32 Sam W. Mitchell 1933-55 Steve C. Arnold 1955-57 Frank Murray 1957-81 Jim Waltermire 1981-88 Verner Bertelsen 1988-89 Mike Cooney 1989-2001 Bob Brown 2001-05 Brad Johnson 2005-09 Linda McCulloch 2009-17 Corey Stapleton 2017-21 Christi Jacobsen 2021-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1896: Thomas S. Hogan (Populist), elected.
  • 1911 Aug 6: Abraham N. Yoder, died in office.
  • 1911 Aug 26: Thomas M. Swindlehurst, appointed.
  • 1922 Mar 4: Charles T. Stewart, resigned.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Wilfred E. Harmon (Rep), elected; John W. Mountjoy (Dem), defeated.
  • 1955 Jun 25: Sam W. Mitchell, died in office.
  • 1960 Jun 7: Frank Murray (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1960 Jun 7: Albert E. Leuthold (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1960 Nov 8: Frank Murray (Dem), elected; Albert E. Leuthold (Rep), defeated.
  • 1988 Apr 8: Jim Waltermire, died in office.
  • 2004 Jun 8: Brad Johnson (Rep), nominated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Brad Johnson (Rep), elected.
  • 2008 Jun 3: Linda McCulloch (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2008 Jun 3: Brad Johnson (Rep), nominated.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Linda McCulloch (Dem), elected; Brad Johnson (Rep), elected; Sieglinde Sharbono (Constitution), defeated.
  • 2012 Jun 5: Linda McCulloch (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Jun 5: Brad Johnson (Rep), nominated; Scott Aspenlieder (Rep), defeated in primary; Patty L. Lovaas (Rep), defeated in primary; Drew Turiano (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2012 Jun 5: Roger Roots (Libertarian), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Linda McCulloch (Dem), elected; Brad Johnson (Rep), defeated; Roger Roots (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2016 Nov 8: Corey Stapleton (Rep), elected; Monica J. Lindeen (Dem), defeated; Roger Roots (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2020 Jun 2: Bryce Bennett (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2020 Jun 2: Christi Jacobsen (Rep), nominated; Scott Sales (Rep), defeated in primary; Brad Johnson (Rep), defeated in primary; Forrest J. Mandeville (Rep), defeated in primary; Bowen Greenwood (Rep), defeated in primary; Kurt Johnson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2020 Nov 3: Christi Jacobsen (Rep), elected; Bryce Bennett (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MT/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]