The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missoula County

Missoula County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Missoula County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Missoula County (incomplete!): Tom Haines, 1945-50

Missoula County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Sid J. Coffee
   1928, Houston: Mrs. Will Cave — W. W. McCormick
   1932, Chicago: John M. Evans — A. J. Violette
   1936, Philadelphia: L. L. Smith
   1940, Chicago: John Heavlin — George F. Higgins
   1944, Chicago: John Heavlin — Mike Mansfield
   1948, Philadelphia: John Heavlin — Mike Mansfield — Etta Ray
   1952, Chicago: I. A. Haswell — Mike Mansfield
   1956, Chicago: Mike Mansfield
   1988, Atlanta: Rhoda Lankford
   1996, Chicago: Barbara Berens — Judi Chapman — Vicki Cocchiarella — Timothy J. Lovely
   2004, Boston: Kevin Furey — Daniel Kemmis
   2008, Denver: Scott A. Martin — John Melcher — Michele K. Reinhart — Diane Sands — Carol A. Williams
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: Thomas C. Marshall
   1900, Philadelphia: Tyler Worden
   1904, Chicago: Joseph M. Dixon
   1912, Chicago: Edward Donlan
   1916, Chicago: George H. Clynick — Joseph M. Dixon — Louise F. Lusk
   1920, Chicago: Lynn D. Ambrose
   1924, Cleveland: Grace D. Catlin
   1928, Kansas City: C. H. McLeod
   1932, Chicago: John L. Campbell — Grace D. Catlin — Joseph M. Dixon
   1936, Cleveland: John L. Campbell — Grace D. Catlin
   1940, Philadelphia: Grace D. Catlin
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. J. E. Miller — Winfield E. Page
   1948, Philadelphia: Tom Haines
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. Krest Cyr — Robert Engles — Casper Nybo
   1956, San Francisco: Eleanore Bridenstine — Mrs. A. J. Mosby
   1960, Chicago: Clyde P. Fickes — Jack Green — Mrs. Thomas Payne — John Schile
   1972, Miami Beach: Wanda Alsaker — Betty Deschamps
   1988, New Orleans: Keith Baer — Arlene Gran — Michelle Gran
   2004, New York: Thelma Baker — Erik Iverson — Tosha Iverson — Kathleen Roberts — Sam Roberts
   2008, St. Paul: Keith Baer — Thelma Baker — Susan J. Muralt — Kathleen Roberts — Sam Roberts — Will Selph
   2012, Tampa: Keith Baer — Gaspard William Deschamps, Jr. — Susan J. Muralt
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MT/MI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]