The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Stone County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Stone County

Index to Locations

  • Galena Galena Cemetery
  • Notch Evergreen Cemetery

    Galena Cemetery
    Galena, Stone County, Missouri
    Politicians buried here:
      Dewey Jackson Short (1898-1979) — also known as Dewey Short; "The Ozark Orator" — of Galena, Stone County, Mo. Born in Galena, Stone County, Mo., April 7, 1898. Republican. Served in the U.S. Army during World War I; college professor; U.S. Representative from Missouri, 1929-31, 1935-57 (14th District 1929-31, 7th District 1935-57); defeated, 1930 (14th District), 1956 (7th District); delegate to Republican National Convention from Missouri, 1932; candidate for U.S. Senator from Missouri, 1932; candidate for Republican nomination for Vice President, 1940. Methodist. Member, Freemasons; Delta Tau Delta; Pi Gamma Mu; Lions; American Legion. Died in Washington, D.C., November 19, 1979 (age 81 years, 226 days). Interment at Galena Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married, April 20, 1937, to Helen Gladys Hughes.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Evergreen Cemetery
    Notch, Stone County, Missouri
    Politicians buried here:
      Truman S. Powell (1842-1919) — of Lamar, Barton County, Mo.; Notch, Stone County, Mo. Born in La Salle County, Ill., October 25, 1842. Served in the Union Army during the Civil War; member of Missouri state house of representatives from Stone County, 1907-08, 1919; died in office 1919. Died, from a liver abscess, in Jefferson City, Cole County, Mo., March 14, 1919 (age 76 years, 140 days). Interment at Evergreen Cemetery.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/SN-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]