The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Dallas County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Dallas County

Index to Locations

  • Buffalo Unknown location
  • Buffalo Oak Lawn Cemetery
  • Urbana Bowers Chapel Cemetery

    Unknown Location
    Buffalo, Dallas County, Missouri

    Oak Lawn Cemetery
    Buffalo, Dallas County, Missouri
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      James P. O'Bannon (1858-1919) — of Missouri. Born in July, 1858. Republican. Alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Missouri, 1884; member of Missouri state senate 20th District, 1891-98; candidate for U.S. Representative from Missouri 16th District, 1912. Died May 14, 1919 (age 60 years, 0 days). Entombed at Oak Lawn Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married to Louisa Robbins.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Charles W. Smithpeter (1873-1955) — of Buffalo, Dallas County, Mo. Born in Buffalo, Dallas County, Mo., November 13, 1873. Republican. Lumber mill business; insurance agent; member of Missouri state house of representatives from Dallas County, 1945-52. Christian. Member, Odd Fellows. Died in Springfield, Greene County, Mo., November 30, 1955 (age 82 years, 17 days). Interment at Oak Lawn Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Wilburn Smithpeter and Lydia (Shinbarger) Smithpeter; married, August 26, 1896, to Cora Effie Davison.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Eustace T. Severns (1877-1949) — of Dallas County, Mo. Born in Platteville, Taylor County, Iowa, June 29, 1877. Republican. Member of Missouri state house of representatives from Dallas County, 1923-24. Died in Louisburg, Dallas County, Mo., June 26, 1949 (age 71 years, 362 days). Interment at Oak Lawn Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of James Riley Severns and Florence (Burrell) Severns; married to Alice M. Freemyer.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      George Harvey Simmons (1889-1978) — also known as G. H. Simmons — of Buffalo, Dallas County, Mo. Born in Louisburg, Dallas County, Mo., June 2, 1889. Republican. Farmer; auctioneer; livestock dealer; member of Missouri state house of representatives from Dallas County, 1955-57. Baptist. Died December 10, 1978 (age 89 years, 191 days). Interment at Oak Lawn Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married to Effa Mae Lackey.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Bowers Chapel Cemetery
    Urbana, Dallas County, Missouri
    Politicians buried here:
      Cuba Ann Proctor (1892-1978) — also known as Cuba Proctor; Cuba Ann Niblack — of Kimberly, Twin Falls County, Idaho. Born in Missouri, December 10, 1892. Republican. Delegate to Republican National Convention from Idaho, 1948 (alternate), 1956. Female. Died in Springfield, Greene County, Mo., August 27, 1978 (age 85 years, 260 days). Interment at Bowers Chapel Cemetery.
      Relatives: Daughter of Margaret Ann (Yeager) Niblack and Basil Elbert Niblack; married, May 16, 1916, to Samuel Hugh Proctor.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/DA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]