The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oakland County

Politicians who were born in Oakland County

  Oakland County (no city given): William Wallace Phelps, 1826 — Charles L. Benjamin, 1841 — Andrew L. Deuel, 1850
  Addison Township: Mark S. Brewer, 1837
  Avon: Jay A. Hubbell, 1829
  Avon Township (now Rochester Hills): Birdsey Knight, 1851
  Birmingham: Gerald S. McGowan, 1946 — David A. Trott, 1960
  Bloomfield: Kleber P. Rockwell, 1868
  Bloomfield Hills: Steve Stockman, 1956
  Bloomfield Township: Luther D. Allen, 1867
  Brandon Township: Bird J. Vincent, 1880
  Commerce: William J. McConnell, 1839 — Joseph B. Moore, 1845 — T. Blake Kennedy, 1874 — Joseph A. Long, 1885
  Hazel Park: James R. Fouts, 1942
  Highland Township: I. Roy Waterbury, 1869
  Holly: Walter J. Hayes, 1871 — Judson F. Selleck, 1871
  Independence Township: Samuel W. Smith, 1852
  Lake Orion: Raymond L. Baker, 1906
  Leonard: Charles G. Burns, c.1889
  Milford: L. Harvey Lodge, 1902
  Novi: Morgan B. Hungerford, 1832 — James M. Wilkinson, 1838
  Oakland Township: Aaron Perry, 1848
  Orion (now Lake Orion): Frederick J. Russell, 1841
  Orion Township: Elijah B. Howarth, Jr., 1885
  Near Orion (now Lake Orion): William L. Carpenter, 1854
  Oxford: William P. Wilson, 1844 — Andrew B. Glaspie, 1876
  Pontiac: George F. Williams, 1831 — George W. Minchin, 1854 — Albert J. Campbell, 1857 — Thaddeus D. Seeley, 1867 — Ferris H. Fitch, 1893 — Eugene B. Elliott, 1896 — Aaron S. Brown, 1913 — Jack Kevorkian, 1928 — Carl W. O'Brien, 1930 — William P. Hampton, 1938 — Mat J. Dunaskiss, 1951 — Gary C. Peters, 1958 — John W. Loosemore, 1964 — Virg Bernero, 1964 — Sara Lynn Darrow, 1970
  Near Pontiac: Cass E. Herrington, 1856 — Charles A. Towne, 1858 — Elsworth R. Bathrick, 1863
  Rochester: Sarah Van Hoosen Jones, 1892 — Charles F. Gray, 1932
  Rose Center: Edmund B. Chaffee, 1887
  Rose Township: Frank B. Leland, c.1864
  Royal Oak: William S. Broomfield, 1922 — F. Dennis Saylor IV, 1955 — Leslie A. Touma, 1957 — Ann Marie Donnelly, 1959 — Robert Bruner, 1976 — Coleman A. Young II, 1982
  Royal Oak Township: George B. Hartrick, 1891
  Silver Lake, Waterford Township: Clark J. Adams, 1904
  South Lyon: Travis M. Reeds, 1973
  Southfield: John S. Dohany, 1868 — Charles E. Stephens, 1874
  Southfield Township: Elmer W. Haack, 1889
  Springfield Township: Elmer G. Wheeler, 1859 — Fred G. Beardsley, 1883
  Stony Creek (now part of Rochester Hills): Dudley J. Kavanagh, 1879
  Troy: George W. Coomer, 1843
  Waterford Township: Frank L. Covert, 1867
  West Bloomfield Township: Andrew L. Moore, 1870
  White Lake Township: A. B. Hubbard, 1860
   See also Michigan birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/OA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]