The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington County

Washington County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Washington County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Washington County (incomplete!): Harold Emery, as of 2003

Washington County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Bion Bradbury — P. S. J. Talbot
   1864, Chicago: James R. Talbot
   1876, St. Louis: Sam D. Leavitt
   1904, St. Louis: George M. Hanson
   1912, Baltimore: Fred W. Thurlow
   1916, St. Louis: Henry H. Gray
   1924, New York: Edward Chase — Oscar H. Dunbar — Helen N. Hanson
   1936, Philadelphia: Frederick Bogue — Helen N. Hanson
   1940, Chicago: Frederick Bogue — Helen N. Hanson — Alexander McNichol — Frances Worcester
   1952, Chicago: William Goode
   1956, Chicago: Ernest Heywood — Genevieve R. MacNichol
   1964, Atlantic City: Charles Casey — Nathan Cohen
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: A. K. P. Wallace
   1860, Chicago: George F. Talbot
   1864, Baltimore: L. L. Wadsworth
   1884, Chicago: Samuel N. Campbell — Edward C. Goodnow — Austin Harris
   1888, Chicago: Henry H. Richards — A. B. Sumner — George F. Townsend
   1896, St. Louis: Gleason R. Campbell — W. M. Nash
   1900, Philadelphia: George A. Murchie — Frank L. Shaw
   1904, Chicago: H. W. Blanchard — V. L. Coffin
   1908, Chicago: Francis P. Call — Fred A. Chandler
   1912, Chicago: D. O. French — Edward M. Lawrence
   1916, Chicago: John R. Trimble
   1920, Chicago: Stillman E. Woodman
   1924, Cleveland: Walter N. Miner — Robert J. Peacock
   1928, Kansas City: Walter N. Miner
   1932, Chicago: Walter N. Miner — Effie W. Talbot
   1936, Cleveland: Ernest A. Woodman
   1940, Philadelphia: Lois P. Warren
   1944, Chicago: Doris Pike
   1948, Philadelphia: Oscar H. Dunbar
   1952, Chicago: Frank A. Pike
   1956, San Francisco: Sumner T. Pike
   1960, Chicago: Donald Small
   2008, St. Paul: Karen H. Raye — Kevin L. Raye
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/WA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]