The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Sagadahoc County

Sagadahoc County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Sagadahoc County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Sagadahoc County (incomplete!): Patricia Percy, as of 2003

Sagadahoc County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Henry W. Owen — Thomas D. Robinson
   1864, Chicago: Moses Riggs
   1876, St. Louis: Arthur Sewall
   1880, Cincinnati: Arthur Sewall
   1888, St. Louis: Arthur Sewall
   1912, Baltimore: George E. Hughes
   1916, St. Louis: P. J. Fitzgerald
   1924, New York: I. T. Johnson
   1928, Houston: Joseph Torrey
   1936, Philadelphia: L. Eugene Thebeau
   1940, Chicago: L. Eugene Thebeau
   1944, Chicago: Harry Thebeau
   1952, Chicago: Theresa Carey — Harry Thebeau — Alonzo Young
   1956, Chicago: Harry Thebeau — John M. Warner
   1964, Atlantic City: John P. Carey — Harry Thebeau
   1984, San Francisco: Patricia D. Finn — Keron Kerr — C. Gregory Melick
   2000, Los Angeles: William Bryan
   2004, Boston: Maggie Allen — William Bryan — Jennifer DeChant
   2008, Denver: Jennifer DeChant
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: J. S. Baker
   1864, Baltimore: James Drummond
   1888, Chicago: John H. Kimball
   1896, St. Louis: Harold M. Sewall
   1904, Chicago: Sanford L. Fogg — A. H. Shaw
   1908, Chicago: Frank C. Whitehouse
   1912, Chicago: William B. Kendall
   1916, Chicago: Harold M. Sewall
   1920, Chicago: Wilbur C. Oliver
   1932, Chicago: Loyall F. Sewall — Henry C. Wright
   1936, Cleveland: Arthur Sewall
   1940, Philadelphia: Arthur Sewall II
   1944, Chicago: Justus H. Miller
   1948, Philadelphia: Justus H. Miller — Etta Thurlow
   1952, Chicago: Converse G. Fenn — Etta Thurlow
   1956, San Francisco: Converse G. Fenn — Jane Fenn
   1960, Chicago: Elana B. Drake — Converse G. Fenn
   2008, St. Paul: Dwayne F. Bickford — Patricia Percy — Kerri L. Prescott
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Zina Hyde, Jr.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/SA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]