The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kennebec County

Kennebec County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Kennebec County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Kennebec County (incomplete!): Charles Mahaleris, as of 2003

Kennebec County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: Richard D. Rice — Charles A. White
   1876, St. Louis: V. D. Pinkham
   1904, St. Louis: Charles F. Johnson
   1908, Denver: Edgar L. Jones — Frederick W. Plaisted
   1912, Baltimore: Charles F. Johnson — Frederick W. Plaisted
   1916, St. Louis: Arthur Daviau — Charles F. Johnson
   1924, New York: Gertrude M. Pattangall — William R. Pattangall
   1928, Houston: Harry Belliveu — Dan W. Cony — Mary D. Cony — Newland L. Hannaford — Timothy C. Murphy
   1932, Chicago: F. Harold Dubord
   1936, Philadelphia: Thomas H. Bodge — F. Harold Dubord — Ernest L. McLean
   1940, Chicago: F. Harold Dubord — Paul A. Dundas — Ernest L. McLean — David H. Staples
   1944, Chicago: George J. Doyle — Blanche M. Dubord — F. Harold Dubord — George M. Jabar — Ernest L. McLean — David H. Staples
   1948, Philadelphia: George M. Jabar — James A. Morang
   1952, Chicago: Richard J. Dubord — Paul Julien — Thelma V. Lassalle
   1956, Chicago: Clinton A. Clauson — Richard J. Dubord — Paul Julien — Melvin Lane — Thelma V. Lassalle — James A. Morang
   1964, Atlantic City: Edward L. Atkins — Richard J. Dubord — Melvin Lane — Joseph G. Mathieu — Edmund S. Muskie
   1984, San Francisco: Severin Beliveau — James Henderson — Jane Paxton — Samuel D. Shapiro
   1996, Chicago: Elizabeth H. Mitchell — Samuel D. Shapiro — Dale Sturtevant
   2004, Boston: Ed Cohen — Dale McCormick — Samuel D. Shapiro
   2008, Denver: Craig Hickman — John Knutson — Rita Moran
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: James G. Blaine — Anson P. Morrill
   1860, Chicago: John L. Stevens — C. A. Wing
   1864, Baltimore: Lot M. Morrill
   1880, Chicago: J. R. Bodwell
   1884, Chicago: J. R. Bodwell — Eben D. Haley — J. Manchester Haynes — Edmund F. Webb
   1888, Chicago: Eben D. Haley — Joseph H. Manley — Elliott Wood
   1896, St. Louis: Edwin C. Burleigh — George W. Heseltine
   1900, Philadelphia: Joseph H. Manley — Albert M. Spear
   1904, Chicago: Byron Boyd — John F. Hill
   1908, Chicago: Byron Boyd — John F. Hill
   1912, Chicago: Charles S. Hichborn — Harry E. Merrill — Reuben Snow
   1916, Chicago: F. Morris Fish — Guy P. Gannett
   1920, Chicago: Charles J. Cole — Blaine S. Viles
   1924, Cleveland: Byron Boyd — Donald J. Lanigan
   1928, Kansas City: Byron Boyd — Donald J. Lanigan — William J. Lanigan — George E. Macomber — Mrs. Blaine S. Viles
   1932, Chicago: Byron Boyd — Margaret Gardiner — William T. Gardiner — William J. Lanigan
   1936, Cleveland: Byron Boyd — Nettie Burleigh — Margaret Gardiner — Charles P. Nelson — William R. Pattangall
   1940, Philadelphia: Byron Boyd — Virginia Jones — Robert B. Williamson
   1944, Chicago: Dororthy Marden — G. Cony Weston
   1948, Philadelphia: Bradford H. Hutchins — Herman D. Sahagian
   1952, Chicago: James M. Acheson — James L. Reid
   1956, San Francisco: Elizabeth Socec — Kenneth C. Tipper
   1960, Chicago: John L. Thomas, Jr. — Kenneth C. Tipper
   1972, Miami Beach: Gordon H. Smith — Jerrold B. Speers — Elaine Weeks
   2004, New York: Mark J. Ellis
   2008, St. Paul: Elaine C. Bridge — Patrick T. Eisenhart — Mark J. Ellis
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Richard H. Vose
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/KE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]