The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Frederick County

Politicians who were born in Frederick County

  Frederick County (no city given): Adamson Tannehill, 1750 — John Baker, c.1758 — Jeremiah Crabb, 1760 — Thomas Cumming, 1765 — Francis Thomas, 1799 — James Cooper, 1810 — Grafton Fleener Cookerly, 1815 — David Cooper, 1820 — John A. McMahon, 1833 — Milton G. Urner, 1839 — John W. Walker, 1849 — Reno S. Harp, 1866
  Emmitsburg: Eugene C. Baugher, 1843
  Frederick: George Baer, Jr., 1763 — John Boone, 1772 — Shadrach Bond, 1773 — William Schley, 1786 — Henry S. Geyer, 1790 — John Nelson, 1794 — James Earl, 1795 — Francis Brengle, 1807 — Thomas W. Cumming, c.1814 — Enoch Louis Lowe, 1820 — Jacob M. Kunkel, 1822 — Bradley T. Johnson, 1829 — John Ritchie, 1831 — Albert Ritchie, 1834 — George W. F. Vernon, 1843 — L. Victor Baughman, 1845 — William Tyler Page, 1868 — D. John Markey, 1882 — Charles McC. Mathias, 1922 — W. Jeff Holtzinger, 1964
  Near Frederick: Roger Nelson, 1759 — John Lee, 1788
  Fredericktown (now Frederick): Valentine Brother, 1773 — Frederick W. Green, 1816
  Near Jefferson: William Cost Johnson, 1806
  Liberty (now Libertytown): Joel B. Danner, 1804
  Libertytown: Andrew Dorsey, 1786
  Middletown: John P. Richmond, 1811
  New Market: Henry Highland Garnet, 1815 — W. Roderick Dorsey, 1868
  Near New Market: James F. Hibberd, 1816
  Sams Creek: Alexander Warfield, 1764
  Walkersville: S. Walter Stauffer, 1888
  Woodsboro: Frank T. Shaw, 1841
   See also Maryland birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/FR-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]