The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Franklin County

Franklin County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Franklin County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Franklin County: [none currently in database]

Franklin County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: Alvin Duvall
   1912, Baltimore: Elwood Hamilton — A. D. Martin
   1916, St. Louis: George G. Speer
   1920, San Francisco: Cora W. Stewart — Lela May Stiles
   1924, New York: Emma G. Cromwell — E. N. Dishman — A. D. Martin
   1928, Houston: Ethel Cantrill — A. D. Martin
   1932, Chicago: James H. Richmond — Dorothy Shackelford
   1936, Philadelphia: Eleanor Hume Offutt — J. Dan Talbott
   1940, Chicago: Eleanor Hume Offutt
   1948, Philadelphia: Alvarado Erwin Funk — Martin T. Smith
   1952, Chicago: Louis Cox — Margaret Morrison
   1956, Chicago: Harry Davis — Franklin Goins — Joseph J. Leary
   1960, Los Angeles: Louis Cox — William H. May
   1964, Atlantic City: B. B. Baughman — John S. Carter — Tom Isaac — Robert Matthews — William H. May — Katherine Peden — Clifford Smith, Jr. — June Taylor — Lawrence W. Wetherby
   1972, Miami Beach: Edward Coleman
   1980, New York: William E. Cofield — Drexell R. Davis — J. B. Marston
   1996, Chicago: Robert A. Babbage, Jr. — Judith M. Campbell — Sally Patton Davis — Ed Hatchett — Joel Swanston Jennings — Chris Patton — Paula Weglarz
   2004, Boston: Charlotte Arnold — Martha Booth — Bill Garmer — Crit Luallen — Angela Rogers
   2008, Denver: Jack W. Conway — Crit Luallen — Libby Marshall — Jennifer A. Moore — Harold Robinson — Nathan Smith
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: Peter Smith
   1896, St. Louis: L. P. Tarlton
   1900, Philadelphia: George L. Barnes — Charles E. Nason
   1904, Chicago: Edward E. Underwood
   1908, Chicago: George L. Barnes — E. W. Lane
   1916, Chicago: Edward C. O'Rear
   1920, Chicago: John M. Perkins — Christine Bradley South
   1928, Kansas City: John M. Perkins — Christine Bradley South
   1932, Chicago: John M. Perkins — Christine Bradley South
   1948, Philadelphia: Leslie W. Perkins
   1952, Chicago: Leslie W. Perkins
   1956, San Francisco: Leslie W. Perkins
   1960, Chicago: Leslie W. Perkins
   1972, Miami Beach: V. O. Barnard, Jr.
   2004, New York: Glenna Fletcher
   2008, St. Paul: Jason R. Bentley — Vincent Fields — Laura E. Owens — Steve Robertson
   2012, Tampa: James R. Comer
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/FR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]