The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Linn County

Linn County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Linn County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Linn County: [none currently in database]

Linn County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William H. Merritt
   1904, St. Louis: Charles D. Huston
   1912, Baltimore: John N. Hughes
   1916, St. Louis: M. W. Courtney
   1920, San Francisco: Mrs. E. T. Koch
   1924, New York: May Hogan — Joseph Mekota — M. O. Reiff
   1928, Houston: T. J. Davis
   1936, Philadelphia: Anna Lamey
   1940, Chicago: Paul H. Huston — Anna Lamey
   1944, Chicago: Charles W. Hobbie — Paul H. Huston — Mrs. Paul H. Huston
   1948, Philadelphia: J. Frank Cravens — J. William McLaughlin
   1952, Chicago: Ethel Hart
   1972, Miami Beach: Morris Chipley — Dee Dewberry — Burtine Motley — Bob Van Deusen — Ron Wickham — Jan Woods
   1996, Chicago: Pat Marshall — Doris Ann Peick — Lisa M. Raine
   2000, Los Angeles: Pat Marshall
   2004, Boston: Swati Dandekar — Gary Ficken — Ro Foege — Linda Langston — Pat Marshall — Monica Severson — Justin Shields — Julianne Thomas
   2008, Denver: Catherine Crist — Ro Foege — Sandra Lee Galer — David W. Loebsack — Ebony Luensman — Michelle Ray Michalec — Allyson Story — Peggy Whitworth
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: William Smyth
   1880, Chicago: Frank J. Upton
   1888, Chicago: J. Brigham — H. H. Rood
   1896, St. Louis: S. W. Rathbun
   1900, Philadelphia: J. H. Smith
   1904, Chicago: Edgar E. Clark
   1908, Chicago: Elmer J. C. Bealer — E. R. Moore
   1912, Chicago: Luther A. Brewer — William G. Dows
   1916, Chicago: Luther A. Brewer
   1924, Cleveland: Jennie I. Berry — Harrison E. Spangler
   1928, Kansas City: Mrs. F. W. Damour — Mrs. I. E. Jackson
   1932, Chicago: Harrison E. Spangler
   1936, Cleveland: Harrison E. Spangler
   1940, Philadelphia: Harrison E. Spangler
   1944, Chicago: Harrison E. Spangler
   1948, Philadelphia: Harrison E. Spangler — J. Curtiss Ward
   1952, Chicago: Bourke B. Hickenlooper — Harrison E. Spangler
   1956, San Francisco: Bourke B. Hickenlooper — James T. Holmes — Harry Newlin
   1960, Chicago: Patricia Weber
   1972, Miami Beach: Duane Arnold — Theodore A. Johnson
   1992, Houston: Mark Boddicker — Tom Dineen — Esther Strother
   2004, New York: Bernie Hayes
   2008, St. Paul: David Chung — Rose Eaton — Katherine Farrand — Sarah Henderson
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/LI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]