The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Linn County

Politicians who lived in Linn County

  Linn County (no city given): John W. Akers — Samuel W. Durham — Hosea W. Gray — Thomas J. McKean — Cyrus Metcalf — Ray J. Mills — D. O. Stentz
  Cedar Rapids:
  Cedar Rapids, 1840-1849: Lawson Daniels — Joseph Greene
  Cedar Rapids, 1850-1859: Homer Bishop — Lawson Daniels
  Cedar Rapids, 1860-1869: Homer Bishop — Joseph G. Davenport — John T. Hamilton — George Marvin Howlett — William H. Merritt
  Cedar Rapids, 1870-1879: John T. Hamilton — George Marvin Howlett — William W. Smith — Charles Weare
  Cedar Rapids, 1880-1889: Elmer J. C. Bealer — J. Brigham — Alexander Charles — John T. Hamilton — William W. Smith — Frank J. Upton
  Cedar Rapids, 1890-1899: Elmer J. C. Bealer — William R. Boyd — Alexander Charles — William G. Dows — John M. Grimm — John T. Hamilton — George A. Lincoln
  Cedar Rapids, 1900-1909: Elmer J. C. Bealer — William R. Boyd — John T. Carmody — Edgar E. Clark — Cyrenus Cole — William G. Dows — John M. Grimm — John T. Hamilton — Willis G. Haskell — Charles D. Huston — M. J. Miles — E. R. Moore — J. H. Smith
  Cedar Rapids, 1910-1919: Elmer J. C. Bealer — Luther A. Brewer — Cyrenus Cole — William G. Dows — James W. Good — John M. Grimm — Willis G. Haskell — John N. Hughes — Charles D. Huston — M. J. Miles — G. King Thompson
  Cedar Rapids, 1920-1929: Elmer J. C. Bealer — Jennie I. Berry — Luther A. Brewer — Cyrenus Cole — Mrs. F. W. Damour — William G. Dows — James W. Good — John M. Grimm — Frank K. Hahn — May Hogan — Charles D. Huston — Mrs. I. E. Jackson — Mrs. E. T. Koch — Joseph Mekota — M. O. Reiff — Harrison E. Spangler — G. King Thompson
  Cedar Rapids, 1930-1939: Frank B. Baldwin — Cyrenus Cole — John M. Grimm — Frank K. Hahn — Paul R. Josselyn — Anna Lamey — Harrison E. Spangler — G. King Thompson
  Cedar Rapids, 1940-1949: Frank B. Baldwin — J. Frank Cravens — Frank K. Hahn — Bourke B. Hickenlooper — Charles W. Hobbie — Paul H. Huston — Mrs. Paul H. Huston — Paul R. Josselyn — Anna Lamey — J. William McLaughlin — B. M. Richardson — Harrison E. Spangler — G. King Thompson — J. Curtiss Ward
  Cedar Rapids, 1950-1959: Frank K. Hahn — Ethel Hart — Bourke B. Hickenlooper — James T. Holmes — Robert M. L. Johnson — Ernest Kosek — J. William McLaughlin — Elbie R. Petro — B. M. Richardson — James L. Ryan — Clarence L. Sedive — Milo J. Sedlacek — Harrison E. Spangler — G. King Thompson
  Cedar Rapids, 1960-1969: Walter C. Anawalt — Don Canney — Robert M. L. Johnson — Ernest Kosek — James J. Meaghan — Elbie R. Petro — Charles J. Seda — Patricia Weber
  Cedar Rapids, 1970-1979: Duane Arnold — Don Canney — Morris Chipley — John C. Culver — Dee Dewberry — Delmer Duffy — John M. Ely, Jr. — Steve Jackson — Robert M. L. Johnson — Theodore A. Johnson — Ernest Kosek — Burtine Motley — Tom Riley — Charles J. Seda — Bob Van Deusen — J. Donald Weimer — Ron Wickham — Jan Woods
  Cedar Rapids, 1980-1989: Don Canney — Ron J. Corbett — Wally E. Horn — Robert M. L. Johnson
  Cedar Rapids, 1990-1999: Don Canney — James H. Carter — Ron J. Corbett — Robert M. L. Johnson — Pat Marshall — Doris Ann Peick — Lisa M. Raine
  Cedar Rapids, 2000-2009: Evan Anderson — David Chung — Lee Clancey — Ron J. Corbett — Catherine Crist — Rose Eaton — Brian Fagan — Katherine Farrand — Gary Ficken — Sandra Lee Galer — Kay Halloran — Bernie Hayes — Sarah Henderson — Robert M. L. Johnson — Linda Langston — Paul T. Larson — Pat Marshall — Michelle Ray Michalec — Scott Olson — Paul Pate — Monica Severson — Justin Shields — Allyson Story — Julianne Thomas — Peggy Whitworth
  Cedar Rapids, 2010-2023: Ron J. Corbett
  Center Point: James E. Bromwell
  Coggon: Morse E. Crosier — Harvey W. Fascher
  Kenwood Park: M. Jensen
  Lisbon: Willard Coldren Stuckslager
  Mt. Vernon: Ro Foege — David W. Loebsack — H. H. Rood — Esther Strother
  Marion: E. I. Alderman — M. H. Biddick — Dick Clark — Isaac Cook — M. W. Courtney — Swati Dandekar — T. J. Davis — Tom Dineen — James D. Giffen — Hurley W. Hall — Ebony Luensman — S. W. Rathbun — William Smyth — Luman M. Strong — William G. Thompson — Socrates H. Tryon
  Monroe Township: John T. Baker
  Springville: Frank D. Marshall
  Viola: Harry Newlin
  Walker: Mark Boddicker
   See also Iowa areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/IA/LI-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]