The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Georgia: Constitutional Convention

Delegates to State Constitutional Convention, 1777-1877 (May be incomplete!)
Button Gwinnett 1777 James Jackson 1777 Nathan Brownson 1789 William Gibbons 1789 Jared Irwin 1789 Noble Wimberly Jones 1795 Henry Dessex Stone 1795 Thomas Petters Carnes 1798 Jared Irwin 1798 James Jones 1798 Matthew Talbot 1798 Benjamin Taliaferro 1798 T. Butler King 1833 John W. A. Sanford 1850 Henry Richard Harris 1861 George R. Black 1865 Absalom H. Chappell 1865 Philip Cook 1865 Nathaniel J. Hammond 1865 Young L. G. Harris 1865 Hines Holt 1865 Herschel V. Johnson 1865 Benjamin M. Long 1865 Archibald Thompson MacIntyre 1865 Baker Ewing Watkins 1865 Marion Bethune 1866 George W. Ashburn 1867 John S. Bigby 1867-68 Foster Blodgett, Jr. 1867 Tunis G. Campbell 1867 Richard Henry Whiteley 1867 Amos T. Akerman 1868 Benjamin F. Conley 1868 Henry Kent McCay 1868 M. Pope Barrow 1877 Hugh Buchanan 1877 Absalom H. Chappell 1877 John Ernest Donalson 1877 Lucius J. Gartrell 1877 Nathaniel J. Hammond 1877 Charles Jones Jenkins 1877 Thomas G. Lawson 1877 Alexander R. Lawton 1877 William A. Little 1877 William H. Mattox 1877 Benjamin E. Russell 1877 Robert Toombs 1877 William Tatum Wofford 1877 Augustus Romaldus Wright 1877

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1865 Nov 4: Hines Holt, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/cncn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]