The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Chatham County

Honorary foreign consuls in Savannah

   Argentina: Andres E. Moynelo (Vice Consul 1896-1900) — William G. Morrell (Vice Consul 1901-02) — Andres E. Moynelo (Vice Consul 1902-08) — William G. Morrell, Jr. (Vice Consul 1913-20) — William G. Morrell, Jr. (Vice Consul 1923-47)
   Austria-Hungary: Edward W. Karow (Vice Consul 1887-1903)
   Belgium: Leopold Charrier (Consul 1878-1903) — E. W. Rosenthal (Consul 1914-25) — A. Thesmar (Honorary Consul as of 1935-44) — Eugene K. Meredith (Honorary Consul 1951-59)
   Brazil: Joseph J. Wilder (Vice Consul 1873-77) — William H. Adams (Vice Consul 1884-1902) — F. S. Hincks (Commercial Agent 1903-07) — William S. Adams (Vice Consul 1904-07) — Lovett R. Potter (Vice Consul as of 1929) — Henrique Oswaldo de Miranda (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Chile: Robert B. Reppard (Consul 1880-1907)
   Cuba: Andres E. Moynelo (Honorary Consul 1904-11) — Arthur J. Howard (Honorary Consul as of 1914) — William McLane Coolidge (Honorary Consul as of 1926)
   Denmark: Christen M. Holst (Vice Consul 1865-97) — Johan B. Holst (Vice Consul 1899-1907) — Aage Georg Schroder (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   France: Alexis Nicolas (Consular Agent 1906-07) — Frank W. Spencer (Consular Agent as of 1935)
   Germany: Jacob Rauers (Consul 1871-1902) — Julius Carl Schwarz (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Great Britain: Herbert George Goodfellow Fray (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Haiti: T. B. Harris (Vice Consul 1894-1908)
   Italy: Luigi Trapani (Consular Agent 1889-1902)
   Netherlands: John de Bruyn Kops (Vice Consul 1875-78) — John de Bruyn Kops (Consul 1878-88) — William de Bruyn Kops (Consul 1888-1902)
   Norway: Reidar Arnljot Trosdal (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) — Einor Storm Trosdal (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Portugal: Henry H. Woodbridge (Vice Consul 1870-77) — Luigi Trapani (Vice Consul 1890-1902)
   Russia: J. R. Wilder (Vice Consul 1846-77) — Joseph J. Wilder (Vice Consul 1880-1900) — Joseph J. Wilder (Vice Consul 1900-UZ ) — William W. Williamson (Vice Consul 1902)
   Spain: Javier Esteve y Borrell (Honorary Vice Consul 1905-07) — Angel M. Dunn (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Sweden: Andrew John Ritch (Vice Consul as of 1921) — Aage Georg Schroder (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Sweden & Norway: Christen M. Holst (Vice Consul 1865-97) — James Lee Rankin (Vice Consul 1901-02)
   Uruguay: William G. Morrell (Consul 1900-02)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/CT-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]